Skip to content

Arm for Sale

January 28, 2010

“A man that lives within his means, suffers from a lack of imagination.”  This is a marketing mantra.  We call it “creative accounting,” “stretching the dollar” or “spending money to make money. ”  Unfortunately, Buzzkill (aka, the spy) doesn’t live by this mantra.  Her financial background has given her a different mantra “spend within your budget and not a penny over.”  Doesn’t quite have the same ring to it does it?

So I wait to see my marketing budget.  It has 3 numbers in it — all zeros, with a decimal point strategically placed.  I say “are you kidding me?”  and Buzzkill says, “you’re creative, you’ll think of something.”  “I’m a LOT more creative with money,” I counter.  Buzzkill is clearly not amused.

Looks like entertaining clients at the Drake is out.  Probably more like McDonald’s…drive through…and dutch.

May need to explore some fundraising options.  Thinking of allowing corporate sponsorship on my left arm.  Send me your logo and I’ll tattoo it on (and by tattoo, I mean a sharpie marker). Shall the bidding start at $1M?

Fine Print: The sharpie will be washable.  Can’t guarantee the logo won’t run or wash off.  If I think your logo is awful, I have the right to redo it and charge you for my time.  Can’t guarantee the arm will always be visible as it is very cold here.  Other than that, this is a GREAT deal.

Smashing© and http://www.smashingonline.wordpress.com©, 2010.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 7:51 am

    Reminds me of the saying…”Those who believe money can do everything are frequently prepared to do everything for money.”

  2. tenniswall permalink
    January 28, 2010 8:20 am

    did you find that in a fortune cookie?

Leave a Reply

