Skip to content

Hmmmm…..How did I get to be the Buzzkill?

January 29, 2010

Just wondering, when did I become the buzzkill?  Although, I prefer to be known as the “sensible one”, it doesn’t have quite the same ring to it – so I don’t think it will stick.  (Any ideas for a more catchy moniker would be welcome!)  I think it has something to do with the fact that someone has to take care of they less glamorous stuff (e.g. registering trademarks, drafting partnership agreements, managing the finances, etc.), but I hope it doesn’t have to do with the fact that there is a generation difference between me and my co-founders!  When did I become the older, wiser one – I wasn’t always like that, really!  But I realised the other day that the others were not around to watch the moon landing, as I did on our black & white TV!   (Do they know TV used to only be B&W?)   It’s also a bit discouraging when we talk about our demographics, that I’m at the outer edge of our target age….my goal is to keep our upper target age to be my age plus 1 year – probably not the best formula, but it works for me!

But I think this is a good fit – and I look forward to the adventure, because while I might appear to be a buzzkill on the outside (I’ve seen our bank balance!), I truly believe that you should never be afraid to try something new.  “Remember, amateurs built the ark; professionals built the Titanic. ”

Smashing© and http://www.smashingonline.wordpress.com©, 2010.

One Comment leave one →
  1. tenniswall permalink
    January 30, 2010 1:38 am

    Awww, Buzzkill we still love you. I love the new fortune cookie saying. did you used to work in a Chinese restaurant by any chance?

Leave a Reply

