Skip to content

Help, I have an interview with Mickey Mouse!

February 3, 2010
When I was working in the corporate world, I definitely put my work obligations before myself. I remember walking into my manager’s office to inform him that I was pregnant. As quickly as I told him I was pregnant, I promised him I would only take an eight week maternity leave (instead of the usual 12 weeks). When my son turned two, I decided that I was going to quit to become a “stay-at-home” mom. To make sure the transition was smooth and that everyone could cope with my absence (was it possible for them to exist without me?), I planned for a six week exit. That six weeks turned into six months. The l…o…n…g…e…s..t exit on record.
Although I haven’t been “working” for four years, I seem to be busier than ever. I am definitely like most moms out there and put way too much on my plate. There are several perks to starting a company with other women like you who are in the same boat. For example, this past week happened to be an extremely hectic one for me. I was wrapping up a very intense venture and had ceremonies to attend, interviews, and photo shoots. On top if it, we decided last minute to take the kids to Disney World.
In the midst of all of this, one of my partners calls to gently ask if I had blogged yet, it was my day. Frantically fearing that I was not meeting an obligation and was going to (gasp) let someone down, I tried to explain my day, “I have an interview with Mickey Mouse in an hour and have to pack to go to the Chicago Tribune!”. So overwhelmed, my thoughts were mixing up. “I mean, I have an interview and photo shoot with the Trib in an hour and have to pack for Disney”.
“Calm down, it’s okay” says the voice on the other end of the phone. “No big deal. Let me take the next two days for you”. Instantly, I felt so much better. So, the moral of the story, go into business with other moms. They get it.
Smashing© and http://www.smashingonline.wordpress.com©, 2010.
One Comment leave one →
  1. tenniswall permalink
    February 3, 2010 10:20 am

    as long as Minnie is buying a dress it will all be fine 🙂

Leave a Reply

