Skip to content

Is there anybody out there?

February 4, 2010

We arrived safely, despite traveling in one of the recalled autos, last night to a seminar on Social Media. For those of you who may not be familiar with this term, it is advertising through social networks like Facebook, Twitter and blogging. The three of us were feeling pretty good that we could check all of those off our list already… we are off to a good start we thought.

Then, the lecturer was informing us that it’s no good unless there is a two way communication going on. At this point, I am not sure who is really reading this blog other than the three of us since we aren’t getting a lot of comments from our readers, if we have any?! The words to a Pink Floyd song start echoing in my head…”Hello, hello… is there anybody out there?”

Next, we are shown what’s next in the world of social media. From a new application that tracks where you physically are during the day (a location can then name a Mayor for the most visits. Uh-oh, I don’t want to be known as the Mayor of Dairy Queen) to designing you own doodle which can battle other people’s doodles to the death, virtually speaking of course. Seriously, I can barely find time to pee, now how am I going to create my own personal Kick Ass Tennis Ninja who will be well equipped to take down Buzzkill’s, The Acer?

I would just like to ask that if anyone other than Buzzkill and Tenniswall has read this to let us know….it’s lonely out here!

Smashing© and http://www.smashingonline.wordpress.com©, 2010.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. tenniswall permalink
    February 5, 2010 3:00 am

    You have kids, aren’t you used to talking and no one listening?!? btw, I’m pretty sure Buzzkill is going to be pissed when she sees you swore in your blog. Later, I’m getting out of here!!!

  2. Annonymous permalink
    February 5, 2010 4:46 am

    What’s with the potty mouth? lol

  3. tenniswall permalink
    February 5, 2010 7:33 am

    don’t worry, the bar of soap is in her mouth

  4. Robyn permalink
    February 5, 2010 10:28 pm

    I look forward to reading your blogs. I am at least three times a week..or more. I am Alyssa’s cousin in FL. I am a mom of 5 and with that number you can conclude and at home mom! You all are very whitty and funny. Thanks for sharing and as always looking forward to reading the next blog!
    Robyn Anglebrandt

  5. tennisdress permalink
    February 6, 2010 12:41 am

    Seriously, you guys think “Kick Ass” is foul language? Clearly, you haven’t been watching enough network tv lately. Haven’t you heard the bar has been raised (or lowered?) in this category. Plus, Buzzkill, I have heard you on the court and it is much worse than that.

    • tenniswall permalink
      February 6, 2010 1:02 am

      welcome Robyn, so happy we are making someone laugh other than ourselves 🙂 And yes, Buzzkill is a bit of a verbal hindrance on the court 🙂

  6. obaby permalink
    February 5, 2010 10:29 pm

    Yes, we’re out here and we like it! BTW. I don’t think kick ass is bad at all. Shit, I say kick ass all the time!

    • February 6, 2010 11:20 am

      Thanks for checking out the blog….I think it’s going to be a long standing joke about my aversion to foul language, no matter how small – but it all started with me removing some blasphemous comments in one of our first posts. Those who know me on the court will know that a well-place curse is very therapeutic! Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

