Skip to content

The Winter Blues

February 11, 2010

When I think of tennis apparel, images of white tennis dresses with visors come to mind. Perhaps a beautiful summer’s day outside on a clay court. Pitchers of ice water with lemon slices are ready for you court side along with neatly folded towels to wipe away the dew on your forehead. The aroma of a ladies lunch waiting for you at the club may linger through the air making it difficult to focus on that last set.

This day-dream couldn’t have been further from my experience today playing tennis. As we just had a blizzard (and an earthquake) yesterday, I found myself dressing as if I was on Snow Patrol. It started out with the usual things; sports bra, tennis socks, bloomers and my heaviest and darkest tennis dress. Then came the sweat pants under the dress followed by a heavy fleece jacket. Next, my new snow boots that I got for Christmas which come up to my knee. To top things off, my huge down feather jacket that met my boots at the knee and has an invaluable hood. This jacket is also gold because my motto is Go Fabulous or Go Home.

As I parked the car, I got the stroller out of the back and opened the darn thing in a mound of slush. I transported my toddler to the stroller covering her with as many blankets as I had. My six-year-old hoped out and I armed him with lunch that I had picked up. Thank God my tennis bag converts to a backpack which I put on and grabbed my oversized purse and diaper bag.

After hiking up a snow-covered hill pushing a stroller because I thought it would be more work to actually walk to the ramp, we arrived at the tennis club. By the time we got to the nursery, I ditched the kids and my gear at the door informing the attendant that they were there and I had to immediately use the restroom. Buzzkill later found me and said “What the hell were your kids and your purse doing in the hall? I shleped everything inside the nursery for you”.

I am counting down the days until I can actually walk into play tennis with not much more than my racket!

Smashing© and http://www.smashingonline.wordpress.com©, 2010.

One Comment leave one →
  1. tenniswall permalink
    February 11, 2010 7:49 am

    I love Go Fabulous or Go Home!

Leave a Reply

