Skip to content

The Zipperman Talketh!

February 12, 2010

Another confirmation yesterday that I’m in business with the right partners!

We had our first meeting with the zipperman yesterday….Just want to get this out there first – The zipperman is a lovely gentleman and the man we want to be our zipper source – we like this guy!

But, we learned that we need to control these meetings in the future….We sat there yesterday listening to this guy show us every button ever made, the history of the button industry and all of his gold lame and calico cotton fabric samples – some of it very interesting, some of it not so interesting, but none of it relevant…don’t even get me started on the importance of bias tape!

I was checking my watch as I had a meeting and this was turning into the longest hour of my life.  (Note:  I told him I had an important meeting, I couldn’t really tell him that I had a carload of cupcakes waiting for the 3rd grade valentine party – trust me – cupcakes are very crucial to the success of a 3rd grade party!)

There was no way we were going to get the Reader’s Digest version of the schpeel and find out our zipper options….But I looked over at my partners and they seemed so engrossed in the peace sign printed fabric samples – I kept wondering, “hmmm, I hope they’re not thinking that peace sign fabric would make a cute tennis dress!”  Finally, we were asked what we were looking for – showed him our samples, told him the zipper we wanted and the colors….We were there for about 2 hours – our end of the conversation 15 minutes, including the goodbye and the walk to the car – wham, bam, thank you mam!

We got in the car and I asked the others “so what did you think of that?”….We all agreed that we love this guy and he’ll get our business, but next time we’ll have to do meet him over Skype, or draw straws to see who gets to go visit him in person.  I’m going to have to cheat, because I don’t think I could look at another button, really – who puts buttons on tennis dresses.  (The astute will also wonder why we want a zipper – but that part is going to have to stay a secret for now!)

The fine print…..All names have been changed or omitted to protect identity in all of our blogs, except us of course!  Our intention is to poke fun at ourselves in our adventures in starting a business, if we inadvertently poke fun at someone else – it’s because we know they can take it!

Smashing© and http://www.smashingonline.wordpress.com©, 2010.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. tenniswall permalink
    February 12, 2010 11:31 am

    for valentine’s day, instead of chocolate, I’m going to give you a big roll of bias tape

    • February 12, 2010 12:13 pm

      Make sure it’s a heart-shaped roll! Does it come like that? I think I was thinking about something more exciting at that time, like my grocery list!

  2. tenniswall permalink
    February 12, 2010 3:14 pm

    in the words of zipperman “they can do anything for a price”

Leave a Reply

