Skip to content

All Walls Have Doors

February 15, 2010

I’m feeling a little overwhelmed.

There are so many little details that go into making clothes.  For example, we meet the zipperman and he places a 5″ binder on my lap and says “this is book 1 — let me know if you like any.” Book 1?!?!  How many zippers are there in the world?  There is a color card for the zippers about the length of my car and he has written “top secret” on it.  He could show it to us, but he’d have to kill us.

Then he starts going off on bias tape.  A) what the heck is bias tape? and B) do I really need a roll the size of my coffee table?

Then there is the jobber out in NYC that send some great fabrics.  Slight catch, need to order about 1000 yds of it.  Hmmm, not sure we can meet that minimum in year 1.

Oh, and of course, another one of my kids puked last night.

Then I remembered a billboard that Nike did in Manhattan many years back during the marathon.  As all marathoners know, the 18th mile is where you hit the proverbial “wall.”  Nike had a billboard at mile 18 that said “all walls have doors.”

And you know what…things are starting to look up.  Buzzkill just got the elusive color card (her spy background came in handy), we just got an appointment with a very sought after patternmaker that is very eager to work with us and we found some other fabrics that we may be able to meet minimums.

so the moral of the story is…when you think you have hit a wall; look for that door.

This is where I’m supposed to put the disclaimer that we aren’t making fun of anyone, but ourselves.  All names/locations have been changed, etc.  But I am making a little fun — I mean “top secret” color card?  Bias tape the size of my coffee table?  Really?!?!

Smashing© and http://www.smashingonline.wordpress.com©, 2010.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 9:08 am

    Great one…but cannot really relate to the marathon analogy, I don’t like running, it makes the ice jump right out of my glass.

  2. tenniswall permalink
    February 15, 2010 9:42 am

    just need a martini hat with straws

Leave a Reply

