Skip to content

Color Coded

February 24, 2010

If any of you have ever had to pick out paint colors for your bedroom, or a nail color at the salon for that matter, you will empathize with our next task. So, we think we have found our fabric vendor and our next challenge is choosing the colors to have our fabric custom dyed. Although this may appear to be relatively simple, try choosing from any hue in the universe and narrowing it down to four colors.

We are using the industry’s color bible, the Pantone Book. There are thousands of colors here, but they are all identified by boring letter-number combinations. What happened to the color names like Fence Post Moss, Candlelight Glow, or British Racing Car Green?

It always occurs to me as I am choosing make-up colors that it is actually somebody’s job to give crazy names to these products. I never thought I would be in a position where I actually desired these services to make my job easier. Until then, I will continue to decide between PA-4267 and SR-8334. I will never take my “Marvelous Madame Mauve” lipstick for granted again!

Smashing© and http://www.smashingonline.wordpress.com©, 2010.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

