Skip to content

What are you doing today?

March 4, 2010

Today we are going to a manufacturer to check out their factory. We have already been to one and like everything else, we want to check out a couple before we make our final decision.

This morning as my husband was getting ready for work, he asked what I had on tap for today. I informed him that I had to get the kids ready, run a few errands, visit with my mom who is town for a day and check out a factory. He paused, and then said, “Don’t take this the wrong way, but what qualifications do you have to evaluate a factory?” Imagine the lasers shooting from my eyes to the back of his head at this point.

I informed him that like anything else, we meet with them, get a tour, ask a lot of questions, see some of their finished products, get referrals and talk with a lot of other people in the biz who have worked with them. He then said, “Wouldn’t it be cheaper to go overseas?”. At this point, I was reminded why I don’t really talk to him about the details of starting this business. Very annoyed, I told him that we are not Nike yet and don’t have thousands of garments to produce and we want to stay local right now to be a bit more hands on. So the next time he asks what I am doing, I think I will just tell him laundry!

Smashing© and http://www.smashingonline.wordpress.com©, 2010.

One Comment leave one →
  1. tenniswall permalink
    March 4, 2010 8:29 am

    I feel your pain. I really do.

Leave a Reply

