Skip to content

A lot about nothing – A Seinfeld show?

April 1, 2010

Hmmmm….What to write about?  Got a lot about nothing….So here’s a Seinfeldesque blog about nothing.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been irritatingly yelling “dibs” when something happens that is funny that might make a great blog – but now that I got all of these  topics dibbed – I got nothing to do with them!   What do I write about – here are my choices:

Sleeves – We been having deep and meaningful discussions about sleeves and womens’ baggage about their arms.  I don’t like my arms, never have & have covered them up for years, but doesn’t seem to really work for tenniswear – they seem to fall right at the most unflattering part.  And they get in the way and actually if we can all get past it – women’s arms are beautiful, but can we convince everyone? 

The three of us usually are sleeveless for comfort reasons and we were concluding that most must feel the same.  Then a couple weeks ago, Spinner and I were playing tennis and I missed a very easy shot.  Spinner gave me the “Really?” look….My excuse?  I was analysing the number of sleeves vs. sleeveless women on the court that day – I like to keep my excuses original!  (FYI…It was about 50:50)

The Agony of Defeat – Spinner and I were playing tennis against Ace and her partner (I must think of a nickname for her – she has an awesome backhand, so I’ll call her Backhand for now until we think of something more clever)….Now they usually beat us (probably have done about 75% of the time, and I’m probably not giving them enough credit.)…But hey, now Ace is pregnant and Backhand was complaining about heart palpitations, so we should have a chance, right?  After we made sure no one was going to die on the court, we proceeded with the match.  Not only did we lose, we were annihilated by them!   Next time I think we’ll make them wear blindfolds!

Smashing – The Movie – We’ve been joking that if this tennis stuff doesn’t take off, maybe we have a future in writing.  Could this blog turn into a book, a sitcom or even a movie?  Spinner was the first to call dibs on having Jennifer Aniston playing her, but I may have insulted her when I suggested someone much more funnier to play her, while calling dibs on Sandra Bullock playing me!   But we’re probably more Amy Poehler & Tina Fey.  Ace is girl next-door & sophisticated all in one package and we decided that she would be played by Katherine Heigl.   We are big dreamers here at Smashing.

Capital S vs lower-case s – I know some might think that getting three women together to start a business is only a recipe for cat-fights, etc.  Funny – on all of the really big stuff and all of the medium stuff, we’ve been in 100% agreement.  Two things that we cannot agree on are:  Should the “S” in Smashing be capital or lowercase? and What font?  Seriously, we cannot agree.  Please help us….Do you like your S in uppercase or lowercase and please let us know which font we should use after our logo?  The current font on the header of this blog is 1 hates it & 1 loves it and the other is pretty neutral!  We want to know what you think?

Trip to Hollywood – We do really want to hear from you.  Our fake trip to Hollywood competition might be a cheap marketing device to get your attention.  But seriously, think how cool it would be to be our very first guest blogger – maybe we’ll even give you a (small) discount on your first purchase.  So please let us know what you’re thinking on either our blog or Facebook page.

PS  Have a Smashing or smashing weekend!

Smashing© and http://www.smashingonline.wordpress.com©, 2010.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. tenniswall permalink
    April 2, 2010 12:12 pm

    what’s this “cheap marketing device”? Marketing is never cheap 🙂

  2. Cindy permalink
    April 8, 2010 11:48 am

    Capitol S for Sure!!!

  3. Cindy permalink
    April 8, 2010 11:52 am

    Also…Capitol S for Sleeves!!!
    I Love Sleeves…then again I am 63!!!
    Please do elbow length Sleeves for seniors! We would’t want to offend!!

  4. Cindy permalink
    April 8, 2010 12:04 pm

    Font could be looking like it’s going high speed!

Leave a Reply

