Skip to content

Get to work, go to sleep!

April 7, 2010

He Gets His Best Ideas That Way

Whenever I need a creative answer to something, I go to sleep to get the answer. I usually use this technique when I am trying to come up with something visual such as a design. Although there have been many nights when dance choreography comes to me as well, weird? Lately, we have been searching for creative words or names to use with some of our products with Smashing.

I found myself waking up in the middle of the night, actually still in that semi awake twilight stage, with words rushing through my mind. Although exhausted, I pulled myself out of bed to write them down because I know from experience that these burst of inspiration wouldn’t stay with me the next day, similar to not remembering a dream.

At our next meeting, one of my words was chosen for a project we are working on. I told the girls that how it came to me and they said, “good job, you should go to sleep more often!”.

I was curious what exactly this was, so I did a little research and found that this is a technique that many artist and writers have used for creative inspirtation. This is a better explanation that I found on the Internet:

“Have you ever experience a light bulb moment when you are bathing? Or suddenly have a solution to a problem just before you sleep?

If you observe carefully, you will realize that creative ideas always come to you when you are relax, which is the time when you are in alpha.

When you are in alpha brain waves, you are relaxed and calm; your creative juice flow faster; you can recall things better, such as where you left your keys; you can learn things faster; you absorb information faster. 

Alpha is the bridge between your conscience and your subconscious mind.

Imagine your mind is like a house when two rooms, separated by a door.

alpha brain waves

When you are in beta, you are in the conscious room. The door is closed, so you have no access to the subconscious room.

When you are in theta, you are in the subconscious room. The door is closed, so you have no access to the conscious room. That’s why most people can’t remember exactly what they dream about.

But when you are in alpha, you are like standing at the door, with the door open. You are conscious, yet you have access to your subconscious. It is the best time to reprogram your subconscious mind. That’s also the reason why you always have your light bulb moment when you are in alpha brain waves.”

 Copyright 2010 Smashing, Copyright 2010 smashingonline.wordpress.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 6:59 am

    Interesting…..I always get my best ideas in the shower – the problem is I get very pruney when I have a lot of thinking to do!

  2. tenniswall permalink
    April 7, 2010 7:07 pm

    I’m very impressed with the chart Ace. Did you come up with that one in your sleep?

  3. Cindy permalink
    April 8, 2010 10:09 am

    Here’s hoping for more “alpha” moments!!!

Leave a Reply

