Skip to content

Seriously?!? Can’t I just spin in my chair all day?

April 12, 2010

Somehow I got the title “sales and distribution” attached to my marketing title.  That is a little concerning.  I like to sit in my office, spin in my chair and make up stuff all day while wasting time on Facebook.   Clearly, a sales and distribution title means I’m going to have to do some real work.

The original intention was to sell on-line and to do some trunk shows.  This means that we can keep prices low and don’t have to worry about year one missteps in taking it to retailers (i.e., product running late, the colors we promised didn’t come out right, etc).  But as more people ask how we are selling our product, I’m getting the feeling that maybe we need to approach those pro shops and country clubs.  This translates into presentations, meetings, negotiations, etc — in other words, a lot of work.

A Business Plan

To convince others that our product is great we are going to have to do a business plan.  I have been avoiding this like the plague.

Why you ask?  Because it always seems like a lot of busy work.  I know all you “captain of industries” out there are ready to crucify me for that statement, but really, you know where you want to go, you know your market, why do I have to waste weeks finding the right words for the deck (and don’t get me started on fonts, you know how this crew has issues with that!!)  Where will I be in 1 yr? 3 yrs? 5 yrs? (spinning in chair, spinning in chair, on beach sipping margaritas after UA buys us out)

I’m sure Buzzkill already has the whole plan done, so no need for me to worry.  I’ll just add some music, strobe lights, fog machine, maybe a few acrobats, and it will be a perfect pitch meeting.

Until then, I’ll keep spinning….

Copyright 2010 Smashing, Copyright 2010 smashingonline.wordpress.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 6:24 am

    As long as the marketing budget is to remain $0, then the plan is done!

    Although, the plan for 1) First Sale, then 2) Dominate Market has a good ring to it. (But I’ll have to come visit you in jail, we have no money to pay fines! – you didn’t notice that giant copywrite warning!)

  2. tenniswall permalink
    April 12, 2010 6:46 am

    that is just subliminal advertising

Leave a Reply

