Skip to content

A Naked Designer

April 14, 2010

Hope that got your attention! I know, sounds like an oxymoron. Well, it is getting close to being accurate at the rate I am going, at least on the tennis court.

As of yesterday, I now only have one dress that I can wear to play tennis. I sacrificed half of my tennis apparel to be dissected and cut up like a sophomore year frog dissection for the greater good of finding the perfect material for our customers. We mailed pieces of this material around the world to show vendors certain qualities and characteristics of fabric that were desirable for our clothing line.

Yesterday, we met with our beloved Pattern Maker. I brought several samples to illustrate (being the operative word, I thought) specific design elements that we wanted to incorporate. Sure enough, she wanted to keep them for reference which clearly makes sense. However, my wardrobe just shrank another quarter.

The last quarter of my tennis wardrobe can no longer be worn due to my morphing body shape. Unless, I wanted to cause unforseen harm to my unborn child, I don’t think I can wear my three sizes too small tennis skirts anymore.

So, that leaves me with one dress. I purchased this dress last week on sale because it was a large and it happened to be our team uniform ( I had a match the next day). I hesitated, because I had the same darn dress at home, but in a smaller size that I couldn’t wear anymore.

I refuse to buy anymore clothing to fit my body that seem to be shifting more than plate tectonics lately since I will probably only play until the end of June. So, if you get tired of seeing me in the same raspberry and hot pink dress, imagine how I feel!

Copyright 2010 Smashing LLC. Copyright 2010 smashingonling.wordpress.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. tenniswall permalink
    April 14, 2010 11:26 am

    you look beautiful Ace! And much better in the raspberry dress than the neon yellow sample 🙂

  2. tenniswall permalink
    April 14, 2010 11:26 am

    ps, at least you didn’t have to drive home in your bra yesterday when Buzzkill sacrificed her shirt

  3. April 24, 2010 4:02 am

    Lolzzzz

Leave a Reply

