Skip to content

I’ve got a bad case of Volunteer-itis!

May 14, 2010

Smashing is off to our first trade show today at the Merchandise Mart – we have high hopes for this one, maybe too high.  But, you’ll have to wait until Monday to hear what happened.  In the meantime, I need a 12-step program……Step 1 – I admit – I’ve got a bad case of volunteer-itis, but now what? 

Today was my first day as PTO president of my son’s elementary school, sharing the job with a friend.  We think we got off to a good start this afternoon and we really enjoyed the celebratory glass of wine with the outgoing presidents (who seemed so very happy, maybe too happy!?!)  As I sit on this side of our 2-year committment, I’m feeling optimistic, but also at the same time thinking, “Yikes, what have I done?”. 

So on the drive home, was thinking about all of the things I need to do keep the momentum going and keep organized,  as I got through the door I noticed all of my voice messages and started to listen to them and realising that,  “Egads, the neighborhood garage sale is tomorrow and I’m responsible!”  (OK  I didn’t really say “Egads”, but Spinner knows I don’t swear!).  So after jotting down all of the new RSVP’s and creating a map for the guard, emailing the hood and putting out garage sale signs – came back home only to look at my calendar for tomorrow.  I’ve got an 8am meeting to discuss the elementary school field day, because of course I volunteered to help on that committee, to be followed by the 9am meeting to hear about what we need to do for 5th grade recognition, and then need to be downtown by 10:30 for the trade show! 

So I put my feet up and then realized its my turn to write the blog.  I think I’ve use the “I’ve got nothing to blog about” routine too much lately.  So I’m going with the I don’t have time to blog routine today, because I cannot keep from raising my arm!  (Note – I think it’s a physical dysfunction, as I have the same problem at auctions!)  Ace & Spinner wrote some great blogs this week, I’m going to slack off tonight and go to bed early!

Have a Smashing weekend!

Smashing© and http://www.smashingonline.wordpress.com©, 2010.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

