Skip to content

“In Your Face!”, said the woman with an Hourglass Figure

May 26, 2010

Scarlett’s Hourglass Figure

If you have been following our blog, you may remember a recent post where I mentioned an incident involving Spinner and myself at a fashion show. To refresh your memory, we attended a fashion show for tennis and golf apparel. I leaned over to Spinner, after seeing the 14th pair of Bermuda shorts and told her “I just can’t wear those shorts, they don’t look good on me.” Spinner’s reply which was quicker than a jack rabbit was “oh, because you are a Pear”. Defensively, but quite politely, I corrected her and said, “don’t you mean Hourglass?”.

So, needless to say, this has provided me with ample ammunition to constantly give her a hard time about it for the past several weeks. Last night, the three of us attended a Women’s Night Out benefiting a local charity at a country club. It was a lovely evening with h’orderves and cocktails. The main event for the evening was a presentation by Liz Sincox who started a business called Easy Style, www.shopeasystyle.com. She has affiliated her website with 60 wonderful stores and categorized every piece of clothing according to body type. There are four body types: Apple, Pear, Rectangle and Hourglass. Her presentation included Do’s and Don’t’s and was very informative.

After the presentation, we all had Liz analyze our body type. I waddled over, as I am almost six months pregnant, and joined Spinner and Buzzkill who had just been analyzed. They were both Rectangles. We kinda joked that I should get analyzed because what shape would I be if I am pregnant. Well, I gave it a shot. I must admit that deep down, I thought for sure I really was a Pear. I step up, turn around and Liz does her magic evaluation feeling my shoulders, waist and hips before calling out my shape. If you have seen Harry Potter, it kind of reminded me of when Harry was awaiting his assignment in one of the four houses at Hogwarts when he placed the magic hat on his head that thought about it and then yelled out which house he belonged to….. I digress….

To my astonishment, Liz proclaimed, “Hourglass!”. I turned around to find Spinner in a sea of pretty ladies dressed up at country club and could not help myself but to yell out, “In Your Face, Spinner!”. Spinner quickly objected to statement faster than an attorney at the OJ trial. Liz reviewed her evaluation pointing out that my shoulders and hips were the same , but my waist went in even at six months pregnant. Basking in my hourglass glory, I confidentially walked over to Spinner for my “I told you so” look.

Here is a tribute to famous hourglass figures (Don’t worry Spinner, most models are actually Rectangles):

3 Comments leave one →
  1. tenniswall permalink
    May 26, 2010 8:58 am

    Dearest Anjou,

    Not real happy with the “rectangle” term. Isn’t a rectangle just a bloated hourglass? I mean we have a waist, we just lost it. Maybe it is in “Bartlett” or “Concorde.”

    Hmm, this reply is giving me a hankering for a pear.

    Love,
    Spinner, Bloated Rectangle, Wall, Capy — so many nicknames, so little space

  2. tenniswall permalink
    May 26, 2010 9:00 am

    oops, I mean Bloated Hourglass — don’t want to be a bloated rectangle!!! Then you are just a circle

Leave a Reply

