Skip to content

Work Harder Not Smarter

June 2, 2010

Looks like Hard Pull Elastic to Me!

I know, it’s “Work Smarter, Not Harder”, but yesterday I was disappointed that I worked harder, not smarter. It has been my mission this week to find the elusive “hard pull elastic, width 1 1/4 inch”.  Our pattern maker has been specific about this exact type of elastic that is needed for the waist band on a few of our garments.

Throughout our journey, a certain name has kept coming to our attention. For their privacy, we will name this company Billy Bob Co. I called the owner last week who was a terrific guy. He said he did indeed have what I was looking for and told me that if I came down, there would be no minimums to purchase. This sounded great as I only wanted a few yards for our sample. He also told me that I could look at all of their product offerings while I was there. This sounded like a great idea.

Yesterday, I got a sitter who I pay $10 an hour who arrived at 1pm. Off I went to the city to meet Billy Bob Co. I arrived at 2pm. Met the owner, again nice guy, who has been in the industry in Chicago for 50 years. He told me that he provides anything needed for a garment except the exterior fabric. He did have thousands of zippers in stock in 150 different colors, but the thought of looking at yet another zipper man makes me want to cry. Finally, I bought four yards of the 1 1/4″ hard pull elastic.

He rings up my bill and it is $3.45, credit cards only. I say my thank you’s and good-bye’s and get in my car at 2:30. By the time I get home, I now owe my sitter $30!!! I think to myself, “not your best day”. Even if I ordered a minimum roll over the phone, it would have cost $22.50 for the elastic and saved me three hours of my life. If this is the wrong elastic, God help me!

Copyright Smashing LLC 2010 Copyright smashingonline.wordpress.com 2010

2 Comments leave one →
  1. tenniswall permalink
    June 2, 2010 6:23 am

    God help us all.

    We now have a Zipperman, A Hard Pull Man, A Stretchy String Man, “Fabric that costs a Fortune” Man and of course the ringleader of all “KGB don’t mess with me” Patternmaker.

    Are we in an episode of the Sopranos?

  2. June 2, 2010 1:35 pm

    Stretchy String Man came through today!

Leave a Reply

