Skip to content

Opening Day

June 3, 2010

Today is the first day of our summer tennis league. Our tennis club plays matches against other clubs in the area. Last year was the first year for all three of us to play in this league. Call it beginners luck, but our team won 1st place last year in our division. To top that off, Spinner won a trophy for winning the most games on our “Ladies Play Day” and I won a trophy for most aces (serving a ball past your opponent with no contact from them due to the unusually high velocity and power:).

We had such a great time playing in the beautiful weather outside on clay courts followed by a wonderful luncheon served by the hosting club. It was a treat. This year, I will only be able to play two matches in this league due to my growing tennis ball in my belly. It was my goal to play a couple so I could qualify for the terrific Ladies Play Day on the last day of the season. Although I won’t be able to play at that point, at least I can join my tennis friends for cocktails (ok, Shirley Temple’s), shopping the vendors at the club, raffles and of course  great food.

So, I was shocked to learn this week that my two so-called partners have started a coup and defected over to their country clubs to play for the enemy.  It looks as though our dreams of repeating last year’s success are shattered. Watch out, Buzzkill and Spinner, we are bringing the heat and are going to take you down (well at least my other teammates will on my pregnant behalf). Game On!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2010 6:53 am

    I cannot believe you used that picture – I HATE this picture of me! Everyone said that we’d go straight to lunch in our tennis gear and when Spinner and I get there all sweaty – you’ve all showered and changed into lovely sundresses. Notice that I cropped out the ugly & unflattering side view – this is the only way this very bad picture of me will be allowed & this is the very last time – it will self-destruct very soon!

  2. tenniswall permalink
    June 3, 2010 7:09 am

    bring it Anjou, bring it!

Leave a Reply

