Skip to content

Playoff Beards!

June 10, 2010

Congratulations to the Chicago Blackhawks on winning the Stanley cup – I bet it was the superstitious playoff beards that did the trick!

Many tennis players have some interesting superstitions.  In Andre Agassi’s book Open is the fact he won the 1999 French Open without wearing underwear for the duration of the tournament. It started when he forgot to pack some for his first-round match and did not have time to find a spare pair so decided to go “commando”. He won and because of superstition played the rest of the tournament in the same relaxed fashion.

Another one of Agassi’s superstitions was during his games, he must make the ball boys/girls be in the original place they were before he serves, even if that means he asks them to go back, he will do it.

Some players are superstitious about certain balls. After a winning point, the former player Conchita Martínez would sometimes ask for the same ball back. It became so exasperating that one opponent, once tucked the ball away to hide it. Similarly, Goran Ivanisevic, usually wanted the ball back after an ace.

I can relate to something similiar.  When I win a point with a particular ball during my service games, I must serve with that winning ball.  Thankfully, Spinner is used to this and will support my quirk in this regard.  Today, during our match, I asked our opponents to hit back a ball even though I already had 2 balls.  I had won a great point with the ball they had and NEEDED that one back.  I heard Spinner quietly explain to them that I was superstitious about my balls!  I will then serve with that ball until the good luck has worn off and we have lost a point.  At which time that ball will be dismissed and I will serve with one of the other 2 balls.  The balls are rotated like this throughout the match.  A bit crazy?  Maybe?  But we won today 6-1, 6-0, 6-1 and I’m thinking those lucky balls had a lot to do with it!

Have a Smashing Weekend!

Smashing© and http://www.smashingonline.wordpress.com©, 2010

One Comment leave one →
  1. tenniswall permalink
    June 11, 2010 6:02 am

    I’d hop fences to get your lucky ball back 🙂

Leave a Reply

