Skip to content

Honesty is the Best Policy

June 16, 2010

Honest Abe cutting down the Cherry Tree

You’ve heard your mother say it for years when you were growing up, “Honesty is the best policy”. As you have grown up, hopefully, you have learned that although she may have been annoying at times, she was right.

I had a situation with my tennis pro today where I felt like his mother saying, “honesty is the best policy”. I have been drilling with my pro in a group for two years at our tennis club on Wednesdays. About a month ago, he told me that the drill was ending. This coincided with a transition from our winter tennis into our summer tennis schedule, so it made sense, I guessed. A week or so later, I catch wind that the ladies in my drill are still drilling with him on Wednesdays at the same time. Confused, I tried to make sense of the situation.

Today, we had our team drill which has all the ladies on the team along with four Pros coaching the drill. My Pro was on my court and in a jokingly way, I said, “So what is up with you telling me the drill was done?!”. He flubbed around a bit and then finally said, “I don’t feel comfortable coaching a person as pregnant as you are. I just have a thing about it and don’t want to coach anyone past four months of pregnancy.” I told him that he could have just told me that from the beginning and it would have saved me the 13 minutes I thought about it, “Honesty is the best policy”. However, I did tell him that it was weird, but he was entitled to his weirdness and now we are cool.

So, listen to your mother, she is usually right!

2010 Copyright Smashing LLC 2010 Copyright smashingonline.wordpress.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2010 6:19 am

    Yes – Always listen to your mom! Funny – He asked me later if he was wrong to feel that way. I told him yes, he was wrong, but for the right reason – he had good intentions.

  2. yesitiswell permalink
    October 24, 2010 9:06 pm

    Yes, honesty is always the best policy. Sometimes a person loses friends by being honest, and sometimes people do not like you when you are honest

    but when you are honest, you are able to live with yourself, like yourself

    and honestly say

    that you did the best you could in life.

Leave a Reply

