Skip to content

Why are sports bras so hard to find? Use the Bounce-o-meter!

June 18, 2010

A few days ago some girlfriends were enjoying a lovely night on my porch and drinking wine.  After we exhausted the local gossip, somehow the topic of sports bras came up and why they are horrible and no one can find one that works, without smashing you flat and giving one the dreaded “uni-boob” look.   I’ve bought and hated or bought and returned many sports bras and I feared that I would have to accept the uni-boob!  This is the one time that my flat-chested friends might have the advantage…But, one of my friends had a recommendation for the Lily of France sports bra that she got at Kohl’s – since I had a 30% off coupon, I set out the next day to purchase said bra.  I must say that it was very comfortable and indeed “lifts & separates”! 

The true test is on the tennis court and I’m pretty happy with my purchase after giving it a test drive.  However, in conducting research for this blog, I do have a bit of buyers remorse.  (You didn’t know we conducted research, did you?)  Googling “sports bra” and  “uni-boob”, I found some fascinating websites.  There are websites, mostly in the UK, that have a bouce-o-meter that shows the bounce without a bra, with a regular bra and with a sports bra.   Check out the Shock Absorber bra at http://www.shockabsorber.co.uk/bounceometer/shock.html.

From their website, they have specific bras for racquet sports and now I feel I need one!  According to their website, Tennis, squash and badminton players experience more lateral breast movement, due to serving, side lunges and body rotations.   When I was in the Kohl’s  fitting room, why didn’t I practice my serve?!  Fortunately, I am in London right now (I wrote this blog before I left) – and I hope to be taking delivery of my special tennis bra any second now.  No more lateral boob movement for me!  When I return, I’ll fill you in on this magical bra called the BoobyDoo – love the British and their sense of humour!  Or better, yet, I’m hoping to convince my sons to queue for Wimbledon tickets, so if I’m talking about bras next Friday – you will know that I didn’t get any tickets.

There is another UK website that shows Dr. Joanna Scurr of Portsmouth University UK on her research into the dynamics of breast movement and what sports bras work best.  They take their bras very seriously there!  Check out the videos at http://www.herroom.com/sports-bra-videos,301,30.html and you can see the Lily of France bra in action.

Have a Smashing weekend!

Smashing© and http://www.smashingonline.wordpress.com©, 2010

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 2:37 pm

    Please contact me back – I’d like to talk to you about Smashing, but couldn’t find a way to contact you.

Leave a Reply

