Skip to content

Dream Big or Go Home

June 29, 2010

A fellow designer posted this quote as her status last week.

Make no little plans. They have no magic to stir men’s blood & probably themselves will not be realized.

I love that quote.  Some people like to dip their toe in the water to see what happens.  Not me, I like to do a full cannonball, fully dressed and then figure out the consequences.

We all encounter nay-sayers in our lives.  And we at Smashing are no exception.  Just the other day I was asked what market research we had done to show a need for our product.  I responded, “You obviously did not see the 10 question survey I just sent out!!”  Others feel the need to point us on a different path — convinced the one we are on will lead to a brick wall.  When I respond, “well then we’ll just climb over that wall,” the nay-sayer just shakes his head in despair, as obviously I can’t be “saved.”

The three of us have NO DOUBT that we are onto something big.  We know this is going to be a success and I’ve even made my mood/vision board for Ace. (“build it and the money will come”)  The only thing I’m doubting is how I’m going to break into Buzzkill’s house to get the corporate checkbook so that I can give myself a marketing budget.

Don’t get me wrong — it still is going to take A LOT of work to get there.  They say success is 10% inspiration and 90% perspiration.  I hope in our case it is a little closer to 50/50 since we are still debating if we are going to odor proof our clothes. But that’s a blog for another day…

Stay true to your vision.  Or as another wise friend wrote on her FB page, “stay true to who you are, everyone else is taken.”

Smashing© and http://www.smashingonline.wordpress.com©, 2010

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

