Skip to content

Designing a Designer

July 14, 2010

Always looking for inspiration

This week has been filled with a whole lotta designin’ round here. Not just on the Smashing front, although we did discuss new designs for Fall 2011 at last night’s meeting, but it seems for everything else in my life as well.

We are up to our eyebrows with the final designs for our premier Spring 2011 line. This week,  we will be meeting with our Pattern Maker to review and hopefully place a big stamp of approval on our second round of samples. This process sure has it’s delays and hiccups along the way and we are so glad that we gave ourselves a good year and a half to plan for our launch, but time still seems to be slipping away. Just as we are preparing to market and sell our Spring line, we will be designing our Fall line as well. Oh, did I mention that one of us will also be the PTO President this year, I will have a newborn in September and the other already has her hands full with three kids and overcommittments with a new school year? As the Little Engine That Could said, “I think I can, I think I can…”

This week, my designer juices are flowing everywhere I look. Perhaps it is just nesting. I finally finished my daughter’s big girl room. My vision of a modern Marie Antoinette themed room has come to fruition. Now, if I could only get her to fall asleep in her big girl bed without me falling asleep first!

We are also working on finishing our basement and just spent the last hour going over my “recommendations” to my husband of the design detail. I had promised him it was going to be his to do as he pleased, but the designer in me just can’t let go completely. Who would put a closet door smack dab in the middle of a wall without consideration for furniture placement? Place in-wall speakers in ideal locations for artwork? Brick as many walls with leftover exterior brick, just because we have it? I have threatened that I will make a plaque upon entering the basement absolving myself of any affiliation with the design. Especially after he told me he was on the hunt for old school video arcades to go next to the moose head, not joking!!!! Did I mention the dart board and shuffle board?

For the sake of our marriage, I am trying to keep my designing nose out of this as much as possible. I might just bite my lip until it bleeds.

2010 Copyright Smashing LLC 2010 Copyright smashingonline.wordpress.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    July 14, 2010 9:50 am

    I love you so, Sweetheart!!! Please take a nap every day!!!
    Mother

  2. July 14, 2010 12:41 pm

    Hey, if he finds any old school video arcade stuff – let me know! I think he could do my basement – it’s my son’s hang out area & right up their alley – or as my son’s likes to call it “Matthew’s Lair” – he dreams big! I’m sure my boys would love his stuff!

  3. Laurie permalink
    July 15, 2010 12:13 am

    Are you sure you can’t do SOMETHING about that moose head?!?!

  4. July 16, 2010 2:46 am

    Wonderful site and theme, would really like to see a bit more content though!
    Great post all around, added your XML feed! Love this theme, too!

Leave a Reply

