Skip to content

Getting Naked in the Parking Lot

September 6, 2010

I’ve written before about the perils of balancing being a stay at home mom with young kids and launching a new business.  I recently saw a picture of a woman on a tightrope balancing a baby in one hand and a briefcase in the other.  I thought I can relate.  Although, instead of the cute little baby, I’d have a crazed 40 lb toddler.  And instead of the cute little Coach briefcase, I’d have a 100 lb bolt of fabric.  And instead of the thick tight rope, I’d have a piece of dental floss.  You get the picture.

So it was no surprise that last Thursday 1 hour before our meeting my sitter canceled.  Hmmm.  It was a meeting where I was going to need to try on more samples and kids are not allowed. The sitter was supposed to not only watch 2 of my kids (5 and 3) but also Ace’s 2 yr old.  So feeling confident I decided that we were going to go ahead with the meeting and Ace would stay in the car with the 3 kids and I would run out to the parking lot to show her how the items were fitting.  Sounds like a plan right?

Well I failed to realize a crucial part of this meeting.  The item I was trying on was the shell/inner layer  — translation it was see through.  Also another bit of important information, there is a law firm right next door to our pattern maker’s office.  Ohh, and the 3 kids are so wired up in the car I can literally see the car bouncing from the windows of the office.

So what should I do?  Run out to the parking lot for the world to see and risk a pending lawsuit? (at least I wore my good underwear) Or lock the kids in the car and pray they don’t know how to drive off yet?

This is quite a predicament.

In the end we compromised.  A 9 month pregnant Ace, straddled the space between the car and the sidewalk, keeping an eye on the bouncing car while also sneaking a peek at me in the vestibule of the office.  Buzzkill shielded me from the view of the law office and our pattern maker broke out the rosary (her angst in the situation leads me to believe there have been other instances of naked girls running from the office).  Luckily no one was driving through the parking lot in the span of these 10 minutes or they would have seen the latest Hanky Panky line.

I think I’m going to write a book when season one is done.  I’m going to title it “Fashion Faux Pas: Nudity, Drugs and Bias Tape.”  (those of you faithful to the blog will understand all those jokes 🙂

2010 Copyright Smashing LLC 2010 Copyright smashingonline.wordpress.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

