Skip to content

Mary Poppins, Guitar Hero and Amber Alert — what a weekend

September 27, 2010

Isn’t she gorgeous?!?  (Oh and the model is pretty cute too)

Yes, Smashing had their first photo shoot this weekend and it was filled with lots of excitement.  First, a very pregnant Ace was teetering on top of a very high ladder to get these pics.  Luckily she didn’t break anything (including her water).  Buzzkill was playing Mary Poppins holding a large umbrella at varying angles to try to stop some of the shadows and I was looking for the craft service table.

I’m spoiled from my Agency days, when going on a shoot, meant wearing elastic waistbands because you were going to gain 10 lbs.  The array of food that would be out, anything you could imagine, ohhh, the memories.  Our “service table” was plastic cups and ice water.

As Ace was styling our model (who was awesome btw) she kept asking if there were any additional shots we should do.  I kept yelling, “the guitar shot.”  Apparently, both my partners are deaf because it took me screaming at the top of my lungs for them to finally do it.   I think they were scared to see another tantrum, because the lack of a craft service table really brings out the worst in me!

So we got some great pics, had a wonderful lunch and then Buzzkill casually, tosses one of our samples on a chair at a separate table from our lunch.  She says to me, “You won’t forget that sample right?”  And I say, “Sure.”  As in “sure I’ll  forget that, I’m in marketing, we can not be responsible for ANYTHING.”  You know what’s coming right…

Sure enough, our sample gets left at lunch.

Enter Sunday evening.  I’m prepping for our 2nd big client meeting Monday morning.  Going through the samples and realize I’m missing one.  Oh no, this is NOT happening.

First, I take 1/2 a jar of St Joe’s aspirin to stop the shooting pains going down my arm.  Next I call Ace asking , “You don’t happen to have that dress in your car do you?”  I’m pretty sure Ace’s water broke when I asked that.  I didn’t even bother calling Buzzkill, because, well, it wouldn’t have been pretty.

Luckily the club still had the dress and various other things we left behind.  When I picked it up their response was, “That must have been one hell of a lunch, if you guys were taking off clothes.”  Yeah, it was a wild weekend.

2010 Copyright Smashing LLC 2010 Copyright smashingonline.wordpress.com

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 5:38 am

    Argh….As soon as I left the club, I knew I should NOT have left that sample!

  2. tenniswall permalink
    September 27, 2010 7:27 am

    don’t worry Buzzkill – only a few ketchup stains

  3. September 27, 2010 7:38 am

    Thank goodness some other young company does, ahem, dumb things the way we do. I can’t think of a week when we didn’t forget something, do something twice (or more), commit to being four places at once (without telling each other, of course). In the last six months alone, we’ve run out of green (raw) coffee countless times, bags several times, t-shirts pretty much always, and we are currently out of coffee mugs. We spend as much time taking things off our online store as roasting coffee! And these are merely the things we CAN control!!!

    Thanks for this entry, which makes us here at IHaB feel a little less like idiots… at least until later this week when we screw something else up!

    John Quinn

    • September 27, 2010 7:53 am

      Thanks for the comment John – We feel that these foibles will make our book and movie so much more interesting. LOL

      • September 27, 2010 9:34 am

        A movie?!?!?! Ha! Nobody would believe how many stupid things we’ve done and still remain viable….!!! You can’t make most of this stuff up!!!!

  4. David Schiff permalink
    September 27, 2010 12:36 pm

    Reminds of the time someone left the mockups of the product for a shoot next day in a bag at the Toronto airport.

  5. tenniswall permalink
    September 27, 2010 2:34 pm

    For the record, BERNIE WAS LOADING THE CAR!!!

    Besides, we needed some kind of excitement at the shoot 🙂

    Thanks for bringing up these old memories; years of therapy thwarted with one comment!

    • Yyf926 permalink
      September 29, 2010 7:09 pm

      So sensitive, Colleen. So sensitive.

Leave a Reply

