Skip to content

Thinking Prohibited!

September 30, 2010

The Thinker Prohibited

I apologise for continuing on this theme – but Spinner and I play in a pretty competitive tennis league on Thursdays and so this is on my mind on my blog day.  So after playing today and analysing our game, I’ve decided to give up thinking – it only gets in the way! 

After our crushing loss to the grannies last week, we’ve spent a lot of time trying to figure out what went wrong to no avail.  We had another match and one where we got over confident during our warm-up – we definitely should and could have won this match, but for some reason we were getting pummelled in the first set.  We kept trying to figure out why and kept making adjustments, but still just couldn’t get into a groove today and so the pummeling continued into the second set as well. 

We were down 2 sets to 0 and really needed to win the third set to save any face.  I think Spinner was starting to panic (OK maybe well into panic mode) and asked what we can do.  My reply – “Not a clue, but I think we should stop f$&#’ing thinking and start playing some f$&#’ing tennis”.   Yes, I admit that these were pretty much my exact words of encouragement to my partner!  Spinner started to reply and I shook my head and I did a “I’m not thinking” motion!  

Guess what ?  We play MUCH better without the burden of thought! 

We got out of our head and into our usual game – on many occasions exclaiming “where have you been?” after a successful shot!  It was still a close set, but this was exactly how we should have been playing and we started to have fun again.  We went to a tie-breaker and won it by 2!  You would have thought we won a car by our celebration!  But we’re back!  Or at least until next Thursday!  LOL

Have a Smashing weekend!

PS  Ace welcomed baby Ace this Tuesday – mother and daughter are fine!  Congratulations! 

2010 Copyright Smashing LLC 2010 Copyright smashingonline.wordpress.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2010 12:18 pm

    When I was in the worst batting slump of my life, my college baseball coach (meanest guy I ever met, btw) walked past me in the dugout one time and said two things: 1) “Hey Quinn, ya gotta quit bein’ an automatic out!” 2) “Quit f@#$ing thinking up there and just f@#$ing hit!!!” Whether because I was so angry (my theory) or because I quit thinking (my coach’s theory), I went something like 20-for-my-next-25.

    Here’s to not thinking!!!!

    On a different note, congrats to Smashing. Sounds like you guys are making great strides!!!!

    • October 1, 2010 6:25 pm

      So much evidence against it – I’m going to give up thinking completely! lol

      Thanks – we’ve definately kicked it up a notch in the last few weeks…Going to be quite the ride I predict!

  2. August 1, 2013 10:49 pm

    Howdy I am so thrilled I found your webpage, I really found you by error,
    while I was researching on Google for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a marvelous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I
    have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the excellent
    jo.

Leave a Reply

