Skip to content

Soaking in a tub of champagne while eating caviar (and other items on my expense report this week)

October 12, 2010

Smashing had another banner week.  We were chosen to do Team Apparel for one of the local country clubs.  This is a huge win for us, for not only will be outfitting many ladies, but we will get tons of exposure throughout the area as this is a traveling team.

Now to get this account, I had to make some minor adjustments to our line. This is not unusual as this usually happens in the selling period.  However, it is new to us, and having not seen the “alleged memo” from finance earlier in the week, I didn’t realize we were on a spending freeze.

So after the sale, I go celebrate.

Then that phone rang.

I ignore it.

It rings again.

AHHH. Fine I’ll answer.  It’s Buzzkill.  She is NOT HAPPY.

“Did you not see the memo I sent?”

“UH, what memo? ”

“The one I left on your desk,” she says

I roll my eyes.  I haven’t seen my desk in weeks.  I’ve been out “showing the fat.”  Basically my desk is probably just collecting a plethora of finance memos at this time.

“No, I must have missed it.” I say

“Well we need to stop spending money.”

I look at the tub of champagne and the half eaten caviar and think “can I expense that under office supplies?”

“No need to worry Buzzkill.  We had a big sale today.  All is good.” I say trying to reduce her blood pressure.

“But you made changes which all cost money. We need to stop spending money!” her booming voice echoes through the phone.

Details, details.  Those finance people are so worried about the details.

“Alright.  I hear ya. I will inform the sales and marketing dept to not spend any more money until further notice.” I say trying to be the team player. “However, I did need to buy A LOT of pencils today (as I look at my celebration festivities).  You’ll see it on my next expense report.”

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pencils permalink
    October 14, 2010 8:50 pm

    It takes a lot of pencils to be smashing

  2. tenniswall permalink
    October 16, 2010 7:15 am

    Finally someone that understands!!!

Leave a Reply

