Skip to content

WTH?

October 18, 2010

(I really wanted to write something else, but I was censored)

Yes, my mom will be so proud that this is the title of my blog this morning.  But this is EXACTLY how I feel.

I had a friend ask me, “How does it feel to be such a successful entrepreneur?  You really seem to have everything flowing seamlessly.”

After I finished hysterically laughing, I said, “Really, we are successful?  Right now the only thing that is “flowing”, is money out the door.”

We have been on a roll here at Smashing, and last week, well, it came to a screeching halt.  Actually, more like a 10 car pile up.

For those of you that need a recap:

1. One of our colors in our line can only be worn in the middle of the night and at 30 degree temperatures.  While the vampire market is a fairly large market (at least according to Stephanie Myers), we were hoping to garner SOME sales from the human market as well.  So it looks like we need to find another color (confused? read the blog from last week)

2. Well, problem 1 leads to problem 2.  The incredible, award-winning, sales and marketing dept already sold said fabric and now gets to go back to our accounts to explain that we have “sold out” of that color already.  But don’t despair, we have yet another color that I’m sure you will fall in love with and then it will subsequently fail the light and perspiration tests as well!!!

3. Problem 1 and Problem 2 are leading to Problem 3.  We have been waiting for said fabric to make a sample for our fashion show.  Well now we don’t have that fabric and need 5 looks for the show.  Is it too early for a drink?

On to a separate issue:

4. We changed sample makers and this woman needs my samples to make more samples.  This leaves the sales and marketing dept without anything to show clients.  This is a big bummer as we had 2 big meeting this week that now we have to postpone.  (does no one appreciate all the work that goes into getting an appointment?!?!)

And my personal favorite.

5. Tis the season for many area fundraisers, which means, solicitors come a knocking looking for donations.  Apparently we are doing too good a job on this blog, because everyone thinks we are rolling in dough.  So I felt a little bad when a mom and preschooler came looking for a donation for a local preschool and I asked them what their vampire population was.  That poor kid; didn’t see that coming.

I’m sure this week will be better.  Buzzkill assures me she has the fabric under control and my samples will be returned by end of week.  Ace is just about finished her 2 week maternity leave, so she’ll be putting in her 80 hour weeks again.  And I’ll be once again doing what I do best, showing the fat.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 5:29 am

    That which does not kill you, makes you stronger!
    Hard work, perserverance, and wine will get you through this.
    Can’t wait to see line, and the samples.
    Love your blog.
    🙂

  2. October 18, 2010 9:37 am

    Again and as always, I am SO GLAD to see this kind of blog post from you guys. Not that I wish you anything but the best, but it makes me and IHaB feel soooo much more normal and “ok” when I read the trials and tribulations of other entrepreneurs. For us the good news is that we roasted 307 pounds of coffee in January and 308 in the first three days of this month. The bad news is that we typically can’t get out of our own way.

    A couple of Fridays ago (Friday’s are ALWAYS insane here as we try to gather all the s%&t from the Glen Ellyn Farmers Market and clean it and load it for the Saturday Wheaton French Market), one of our employees was sick, so I was trying to get things pulled together myself. About 3:00, one of my partners walks in, sees me in “a state” and says, “Hey, don’t sweat it; it’ll all get done.” By 5:30, he looked at me and said, “You know what I want for dinner? A bottle of wine.”

    But our financial consultant tells us time and again that this is what a start-up looks and feels like. That it’s mayhem for a couple years. Perseverance is his favorite word for us.

    Thanks for the blog guys. It’s always entertaining and a great read!

  3. tenniswall permalink
    October 18, 2010 10:07 am

    To Terry: thanks. I’m pretty sure at the rate we are going, I will transform into the Incredible Hulk by morning.

    To John: always glad to make another fellow entrepreneur laugh. Hoping that all these trials and tribulations play well on the silver screen

  4. October 18, 2010 10:17 am

    BTW, did you like how I said “one of our employees” was sick, as if we had a roomful of drones slaving away for us? We have a grand total of TWO employees, one part-time and one (more or less) full-time. And we are still at the point that we need to have a meeting or at the very least a conference call before buying a box of paper clips. And, yes, you guys pull it off very seamlessly. I know from personal experience that all these things are merely growing pains, although – for us anyway – each one feels like the straw that will bankrupt the IHaB camel. It sounds like great stuff for you guys. Continued success!!!!

Leave a Reply

