Skip to content

A lawyer in the house? We have our first restraining order

October 25, 2010

 

They don’t teach you in school, that there is a difference between “making a sale” and “closing a sale.”  Sounds the same, right?  Well it is not.  Which is why a restraining order is about to be filed against us.
If we rewind a few weeks, we had some incredible sales meetings.  We got promises of big orders, there were lots of high fives, and the champagne was flowing.  It was a thing of beauty.  We had made the sale!!
Then it came time to make good on the promises and actually “close the sale.”  These buyers were “on vacation” for weeks at a time, “in the bathroom” habitually or their number was just plain disconnected.  Hmm, I’m getting the sneaky suspicion that we are being avoided.  Well, like the newspaper boy in Better Off Dead, I was not going to be deterred — I WANT MY TWO DOLLARS!!!
So if they aren’t going to return my phone calls, I’m going to show up.
So my first day, buyer #1 not working.
Day #2 buyer #2 coming in late.
Day #3 buyer is missing and no one can locate them in the building.
So tomorrow I’m on stake out.  I’m going to wait in the buyer’s office until they show up.  I plan on bringing my lawn chair, water bottle and a good book.  Oh, and of course my lawyer for when they issue the restraining order.
2010 Copyright Smashing LLC 2010 Copyright smashingonline.wordpress.com

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. tennisdress permalink
    October 25, 2010 7:22 am

    Have I told you lately what a good job you are doing? Seriously, appreciate all of the hustle:)

  2. tenniswall permalink
    October 25, 2010 7:26 am

    thanks Ace! I may need you to pull up a lawn chair at another account. You may get better results since you’ll be nursing an infant!!!

  3. ranglebrandt permalink
    October 27, 2010 12:51 pm

    Looking forward to hearing how this turned out…

  4. tenniswall permalink
    October 27, 2010 12:59 pm

    Happy to report I got an actual order today!!! Persistance (or as some may say, annoyance) works!!!

    Now onto the next account….

Leave a Reply

