Skip to content

Laundry – Things I’ve learned!

November 5, 2010

There are many mundane things about launching a business – one of the most mundane lately for me  has been reviewing numerous color dip fabric swatches.  The fabric mill sends them to me before and after for each of our desired colors after they perform a variety a tests.  A few weeks ago I mentioned some problems about one of our colors – well we’ve been back and forth since this time with different and more detailed test results.  These include a Dry Crock, Wet Crock, Perspiration, Light Fastness and a couple of laundering tests. 

A couple of weeks ago, we thought that we would not be able to either sweat or wear our clothes in sunlight.  But I’m happy to report that the mill has been able to resolve these 2 problems and I commend them for their patience through my numerous questions.  So a couple of days ago, I got the final lab report and there were some scary results on the “Accelerated Laundering” test.  

Argh….I thought we were done!  I call the Quality Control manager and question her on this and she explains that it’s the best they can do.  So I’m starting to think that it’s back to the drawing board, when I ask how many times can we wash this color before we get these results?  She’s confused by my concern, so I ask her to explain the test – she says that we will get these results only if we wash the clothes in a small industrial centrifuge filled with small metal balls?  Really?  This is what you’re testing? 

I’m pretty sure that we can just warn our clients not to wash our clothes in their centrifuges filled with small metal balls, but perhaps we need to put it on our clothing care labels – but I think we’re going to risk it, I’m sure writing this warning now in our blog should cover us, right?

Have a Smashing weekend.

PS  One interesting fact that I’ve learned through this is to never add fabric softener to clothes that  claim to have wicking capabilities – washes it right off!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ranglebrandt permalink
    November 5, 2010 7:41 am

    who knew about the wicking and loss there of…gonna pitch the snuggle since I can’t stay snuggled all day in the clothes any how. I would rather it wick when needed. Can’t wait to see the line~

    • November 5, 2010 8:49 am

      Thanks for your comment….I was surprised when I learned this too from our mill – been washing off the wicking on my clothes for years!

  2. Tenniswall permalink
    November 5, 2010 8:39 am

    What happened on the razor blade test? Can I wash with razor blades?

Leave a Reply

