Skip to content

Introducing Smashing’s New Corporate Offices

November 8, 2010

Friday was a very big day for the sales and marketing department at Smashing.  We had another sale, we have our first press interview and we have new corporate offices.

First we got a sale (complete with order) from another local country club.  They loved us so much (and really, who doesn’t) that they even invited us to a fashion show in the spring to do our “show the fat” demo.  Nothing I’ll love more than “showing the fat” while the country club ladies all coiffed are chowing down chocolate mousse cake.  I sure hope they leave me a plate of carrots.

Second, we got a call from a Chicago land paper wanting to do an interview, complete with photos, on Smashing.  Wonderful.   Our conversation was going swimmingly, up to the point where she asked where our corporate offices were.  Oh crap.  In between getting fabric, ordering labels, sales calls, stretchy thread, etc, we forgot to get one of those.  So I give the reporter my home address for the scheduled interview and explain there may be a change in venue.  That change in venue is if I can find some cheap commercial office space.

So I spent a good part of the weekend scouring through the real estate section.  Unfortunately nothing fits within our budget.  When I offered them the “priceless” opportunity of being mentioned on our website, I got a dial tone.  Hmm, bad connection.

Now I’m trying to transform my sunroom into “Smashing’s Corporate Headquarters.”  Which means I have a lot of cleaning to do.  Now there are different levels of cleaning depending on whom we are expecting.

Cleaning for friends with little kids.  This is basically just picking up any offending underwear left on the floor.

Cleaning for friends with no kids.  This means putting toys back in the playroom so there is the appearance that kids have their space, and adults their’s (hilarious, I know).

And then there is cleaning for the Queen, other foreign dignitaries, Brad Pitt and the Press.  That involves using actual appliances, such as the vacuum.

So I’m off to be June Cleaver for the morning before the Press descends upon our New Corporate Headquarters.

ps– someone may want to check on Buzzkill who most likely did not get past the first sentence of this blog and is either (a) in cardiac arrest or (b) furiously typing up more memos to add a top the mountain of financial memos on my desk.

2010 Copyright Smashing LLC 2010 Copyright smashingonline.wordpress.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Laurie permalink
    November 8, 2010 7:04 am

    Wow..Good luck…with the cleaning too!

  2. November 8, 2010 9:45 am

    Does a Powerpoint count as a memo? If so – check that off the list, guess all I have to do today is that cardiac arrest thing – so just wait until our interview today! lol

  3. November 8, 2010 4:39 pm

    BTW Spinner chose “none of the above” in the cleaning hierarchy!

  4. tenniswall permalink
    November 8, 2010 4:49 pm

    again, the finance department is concerned about details. It was a surprise to see Buzzkill vacuuming my house as I was returning from a sales call. I need to be “running late” more often!!

Leave a Reply

