Skip to content

Tennis Thanks – Some Thanksgiving Poetry to go with that Cranberry Sauce

November 24, 2010

This year as Thanksgiving approaches

         I give thanks to Tennis from double faults to poaches

Oh, what emotions this sport has brought me

          The triumphs, the defeats, the thrills, the agony

The mad obsession with this little yellow ball

          Makes me play even after every bad call

Always chasing the high after hitting a winner

          And wondering why this sport doesn’t make me any thinner

The opponents range from nice to crass

          Even the Granny who can smoke your ass

The Drop Shot, a Ball with Spin and even an Ace

          Leave you feeling frustrated and red in the face

But nothing beats the feeling of smashing that Overhead

          Or seeing your opponent shake with dread

Fun, laughter, exercise and friends

          Tennis, this is what I thank you for in the end!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. ranglebrandt permalink
    November 24, 2010 8:29 am

    nothing but a bunch of turkeys in the end but nothing beats those kind of friends! Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. November 24, 2010 8:33 am

    What a poet (and I didn’t know it!) – very nice Ace!

  3. tenniswall permalink
    November 24, 2010 8:40 am

    More Ace, More!!!

    But of course we cannot forget golf so here is a brief ode to golf:

    The drives, the shots, the putts that brought me to my knees
    The 1,000s I paid for new clubs that I wrapped around a tree

    The early morning view of the manicured greens
    How can something so beautiful be so mean?

    But playing in the evening with friends and cocktail in hand
    Is one of the things I’m most thankful for in the end

    So as I pack away my clubs for the winter and wait for the next thaw
    That is what will make me spend 1,000s again next spring, summer and fall

    • tennisdress permalink
      November 24, 2010 9:09 am

      Very Good! I think I need to start golfing next year!

  4. November 27, 2010 4:12 am

    I am very interested in your poet. This is my first visit on your website. I hope that my introductory greetings to you receive. greeting

Trackbacks

  1. Tennis Thanks – Some Thanksgiving Poetry to go with that Cranberry … « Tennis Community
  2. Tennis Thanks – Some Thanksgiving Poetry to go with that Cranberry …
  3. Tennis Thanks – Some Thanksgiving Poetry to go with that Cranberry …
  4. Tennis Thanks – Some Thanksgiving Poetry to go with that Cranberry … | The Tennis News

Leave a Reply

