Skip to content

It’s All About The Climb

December 1, 2010

There is so much to write about, but I am still fried from our late night meeting last night that I am not sure I can coherently write about anything. I am not even sure I could coherently order a pizza at this point. Buzzkill and Spinner came over for a  meeting  to pound out some looming issues that needed immediate decisions in lieu of our upcoming production start in January.

My elementary math skills are sure coming in handy lately. Addition, Subtraction you name it! There may even be some division or multiplication thrown in there. First, we are making some very important sizing decisions. Although 3/8 inch may not seem like much to most, but to important people like surgeons and us it is a HUGE deal. I literally found myself waking up last night thinking about a particular hem length and having second thoughts in a cold sweat. I don’t think a groom would have as many second thoughts the night before her wedding.

Next, Color Selections. Recently, I helped my first grader with his homework which involved listing as many color combinations for two pair of socks and three shirts. It was kind of like that, but with a lot more choices. I listed every possible combination on each of our styles. Some of our styles have a couple of different colors options, so the list grew quite large. I emailed it ahead of time so Buzzkill and Spinner could review. Buzzkill had a heart attack and pointed out that we can’t make everything listed. After I reiterated this was just a jumping off point and that alcohol would be provided at that evening’s meeting, she calmed back down.

We have our work cut out for us this month (not to mention the holidays) to make sure we meet our production schedule for January. I am reminded of the words by the great lyricist, Miley Cyrus, “it’s all about the climb”. We are deep into the “climb” right now.  We are trying to keep things in perspective that one day when we are sipping our drinks on a beach with our pool boys, Antonio and Sebastian, fanning us with palms made out of money, we will giggle with fond memories of our days on the “climb”.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. John Quinn permalink
    December 2, 2010 9:46 pm

    As I Have a Bean sets new standards every day in being understaffed and undercapitalized, and as we prepare for yet another weekend where we are overcommitted and will be running around (once again!) like chickens with our heads cut off, I’ll try to remember that it’s about the freaking climb and that success is a journey and not a destination. UGH! I could use a little more DESTINATION!!!!

    On a serious note, always enjoy the Smashing blog. Thanks for reminding me that this start-up stuff is fun, challenging, frustrating and rewarding all at the same time!

    Continued success!!!!

    • December 4, 2010 7:51 am

      Thanks John – It’s always great to have your comments. Good luck this weekend and hope the snow doesn’t add too much added excitement!

Leave a Reply

