Skip to content

This Blog Better Be Funny, Dammit!

December 6, 2010

 

The Spinners had their annual holiday bash this past Saturday and their house was filled with champagne & laughter.  Many from our tennis crowd were there and as always, we were amazed at how well each other cleans up.  Funny – when you primarily see people with little or no make-up, hair in a ponytail and glistening with sweat, we really do not recognize each other sometimes. 

Case in point – A few weeks ago a friend had a baby shower for another tennis friend and when I arrived I was very impressed that she hired this gorgeous girl to bartend, so I went up and asked what kind of red wine she was pouring.  She told me it was a Cabernet and I said that would work, but then she proceeded to talk to me and ask me about tennis, Smashing, etc.   Hmm,  I started to wonder how this bartender knew so much about me – but then as she kept talking, I realized that she plays tennis with us!  Now she’s adorable in her tennis clothes and ponytail – but this evening she was absolutely stunning.  I thought I recovered well and I don’t think she noticed – though was a bit bummed that I had to pour my own wine the rest of night! 

Now I’m hoping that she feels that this is a compliment, because I was too embarrassed to share my case of mistaken identity with her.  Although I did find out at Spinner’s party that she’s a big fan of our blog, so perhaps the cat is out of the bag.  Although, I feel much pressure as I explained that Spinner and I swapped our usual blog dates and not sure how funny I can be on a Monday.  She joked, “Oh, it better be funny, dammit!”

Later on in the evening, Spinner and I were laughing with a few others and we’re very excited that we have so much support from friends.  Although, I may have a better understanding of the Buzzkill moniker. 

Personally, I don’t think I’m really a Buzzkill – but the following scenario will demonstrate how Spinner and I heard the same conversation differently.  A friend offered to introduce us to some tennis clubs she knows, if we give her some free clothes.  I think she heard my jaw drop – we cannot even afford to give us free clothes – as she quickly amended her request to our product line at cost.  Spinner and her were making big plans and I couldn’t stop the calculating in my brain – her words definitely killed my champagne buzz.  After she left, I mentioned to Spinner that right now we cannot afford to give away free clothes.  Spinner is confused, “What are you talking about?”  I said, she wants free clothes to introduce us.  Spinner replies, “No she doesn’t”.  I asked the other friend that was involved in the conversation and she confirmed that the other person did indeed ask us for free clothes!  Funny – Marketing didn’t even hear this word, but heard all about the big plans.  Finance didn’t pay any attention to anything after the word “free”.    So while I don’t think I’m a buzzkill, I’m definitely paying attention to words uttered that ruin the fun! 

Have a Smashing week!

2010 Copyright Smashing LLC 2010 Copyright smashingonline.wordpress.com

7 Comments leave one →
  1. spinner permalink
    December 6, 2010 7:17 am

    lol. although your ears did perk up with the mention of a roadtrip to Naples. Nothing like the promise of warmth to throw those accounting principles out the window!

    • December 6, 2010 4:09 pm

      I’ll throw all of my principles out the window for a little beach action!

Trackbacks

  1. This Blog Better Be Funny! « Smashing Online's Blog
  2. This Blog Better Be Funny! « Smashing Online's Blog | The Tennis News
  3. This Blog Better Be Funny! « Smashing Online's Blog
  4. This Blog Better Be Funny! « Smashing Online's Blog « Tennis Community
  5. This Blog Better Be Funny! « Smashing Online's Blog « Tennis Community

Leave a Reply

