Skip to content

Finally, a little help around here

December 13, 2010

While I’m sure you are all aware, the marketing and sales department have been the ones keeping this operation afloat.  So we were thrilled to hear we now have a little help around her and have an intern!!

I haven’t come up with a clever moniker for her yet.  It’s been on my “to do list” but as I stated before, we have been tirelessly overworked.  So in the meantime we will call her “TS”  as in Team Spinner. (t-shirts are currently in production and will be avail for $19.95)

Let me tell you how our interview went.

First, I was planning to meet her at the Drake for lunch.  Buzzkill somehow heard about that plan (maybe she has an intern too?) and so our meeting got changed to coffee at the coffee shop.  Minor setback.  Our “interview” was scheduled for 9:30 with TS and myself.  Buzzkill was there by 9:15.  She was either concerned I wouldn’t ask the right questions or I would somehow turn this interview into an all day event ending at the Drake.  So I showed her, and ordered the most expensive coffee on the menu.

TS was impeccably dressed and came with portfolio in hand.  She was very put together and incredibly articulate.   But what sealed the deal was that she laughed at my jokes.

TS asked what her job would entail.  I heard Buzzkill say under her breath, “Doing Spinner’s job.” Ok, maybe it wasn’t under her breath, more like screaming through a megaphone, but I did hear it nonetheless.

Again, the sales and marketing department will not be outwitted by the finance and legal department!

So after the interview was “over” and all went our separate ways, I found TS in the parking lot to give her the actual job description.  Here are a few of the things she’ll be working on:

1. All finance and legal memos are to be left on a pile on my desk.  Do not read, they will depress you

2. All celebration, clothing expenses, etc are to be expensed under “office supplies”

3. If Buzzkill is looking for me in a panic (usually on Monday when I submit my expenses), I’m always “with a client”

4. Call Matt Lauer and tell him we are coming in February and please send the private jet

Now you see why we need an intern?!?

2010 Copyright Smashing LLC 2010 Copyright smashingonline.wordpress.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 5:25 am

    Different Sales jobs have different job descriptions.

  2. December 13, 2010 7:30 am

    Are these guys at your house?

    http://www.imdb.com/media/rm3423116544/tt0077008

  3. Spinner permalink
    December 13, 2010 7:36 am

    You need to have a creative side to work on Team Spinner. We encourage “out of the box” and “onto an island” type thinking.

Leave a Reply

