Skip to content

The Boss

January 14, 2011

Both  my boys are very excited about Smashing, although my 8th grader is worried that I’m spending his college fund – which I am and remind him to study hard to win that scholarship.

My youngest son is the more inquisitive of the boys and wants to know every detail, or rather one detail – he’s continually asking me who’s the boss of Smashing.  I explain that we are all equal partners.  This doesn’t seem to make sense to him and he will ask the same question again and insists that someone needs to be in charge.  So I explain that we’re all in charge and further that if there is something that we disagree on, we can take a vote to decide.

(Although, as I write this – perhaps we should instill the rock-paper-scissors decision-making tool that I utilize for all important decisions at home!  I wish I would have written my dissertation on that topic,  would have given it an impressive title such as “Quantitative vs Chance Management Decision Tools:  The Rock-Paper-Scissors Rule”.)

Sorry for the random digression – Max doesn’t seem satisfied with the everyone is in charge approach.  So now he turns to questioning me about who thought of the idea for Smashing first.  Hmm…Not sure if I can say if there was a moment when someone just blurted out, “Let’s start a company and make figure flattering tennis & golf clothes and by the way, let’s call it Smashing and these are the people we need to work with and don’t bother with the Zipperman or the Trim Show “.  Would have actually saved us a lot of time if someone had that eureka moment, but I guess we wouldn’t have had much to blog about.

But like a lot of ideas this didn’t happen.  But this doesn’t make Max happy.  I know what he really wants me to say – because he’s so excited that I’m the PTO president of his school.  Not because of the great work we do, but because I get to be the boss of all of the other moms!  His words – not mine.  Don’t want to be the boss of the moms!  He was very disappointed to learn that I wasn’t the boss of the principal or the teachers.  (Actually, I’m co-president and share the job with a friend – so Max and I have had a similar conversation of which of us is the “real boss”!)

So I explained the evolution of our idea.  Not sure that our fans know that we originally were going to put our witty tennis sayings on T-shirts and other paraphernalia – kind of like the “Life is Good” for tennis.  We still have those witty sayings and could always be our fall back plan.  One evening, as we were talking about T-shirts and how we were having a hard time finding anything that was really figure flattering, we started talking about what we hate about our tennis clothes, how they’re all made for twenty-somethings that weigh 100lbs, etc…and then we commented that at least half of us don’t even wear t-shirts anyway.  It was from this second kernel that several days & weeks (& months) of brainstorming and research began.

But like the fine defense attorney he’s bound to be, he objected to my story telling and just wanted a straight answer to his very simple question of who’s the boss of Smashing.  This questioning went on for days and he wasn’t going to stop, so I finally broke down like a whimpering witness on the stand and just needed the questioning to stop.  “OK, OK, OK – will you stop asking me if I tell you I’m the boss of Smashing?” His reply, “I just want the truth”. After my smile and a Jack Nicholson voice in my brain about him not being able to handle the truth, I reply that “I’m the boss, but you just cannot tell Ace & Spinner that I told you!”

Phew – The interrogation was over and no more questioning yet.  But if the police, FBI, CIA need to get a false confession out of someone – I’m sending them my 4th grader, but it might be considered torture!

Have a Smashing weekend!

PS  Hoping that Ace & Spinner are too busy to read the blog today and I’m going to have to lock Max in his room anytime they come over, just in case he spills the beans.

2011 Copyright Smashing LLC 2011 Copyright smashingonline.wordpress.com

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Laurie permalink
    January 14, 2011 5:51 pm

    Very cute!

  2. January 16, 2011 7:28 am

    Can’t wait to see your stuff!!

    • January 16, 2011 9:44 am

      Thanks….Great seeing you last night and good luck on your new venture too.

  3. Max (the Max in the blog) permalink*
    January 17, 2011 7:09 pm

    HEY!!! I have something to tell to you mom! WHO IS THE BOSS?!?!

    • January 18, 2011 6:28 am

      Argh!!! Should have never let you read the blog! lol PS Love you!

  4. Max (the Max in the blog) permalink*
    January 18, 2011 7:13 pm

    why did you say that your evil waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!! I’m just kidding and tell Ace and Spinner that your new nickname is called THE BOSS. P.S. WHO IS THE BOSS!?!?

    • January 21, 2011 9:32 pm

      Max,

      It should be “you’re evil”! Ace and Spinner will be over on Sunday and you can ask them yourself!

      Love you, Mom

  5. Max (the Max in the blog) permalink*
    January 25, 2011 7:39 pm

    So what, by the way I have some nicknames I made up for you.

    Overhead, Birdy, Eagle, Putt, Top Spin, Lob, Driver, and albatross. just say which one you like.

    P.S. WHO IS THE BOSS!?!?

  6. February 2, 2011 2:22 pm

    Your nickname should be Overhead.

Trackbacks

  1. The Boss « Smashing Online's Blog
  2. The Boss « Smashing Online's Blog « Tennis Community
  3. The Boss « Smashing Online's Blog | The Tennis News
  4. The Boss « Smashing Online's Blog

Leave a Reply

