Skip to content

Burning the Midnight Oil

February 18, 2011

Why am I only inspired when it’s dark outside?  For some reason, I cannot work on anything creative before 9pm and then it’s usually until well after midnight.

Spent the last couple days (or nights) getting our website ready for launch – so been going through all of our photos only to discover that we have no landscape ones!   Also, was not liking our font, nor our logo online – argh!!!    But by 2pm – not sure it was the lack of sleep – but things started to look better.

I’m still not done – we’re not due to launch the shopping cart feature until the beginning of March – so I guess I’ll be up the night before loading the thumbnails!

Reminds me of a story – I used to work for an IT company many moons ago and those of us responsible for implementations often had to work all weekend.  Of course, when you’re in your 20’s you must have a competition to see who could go the longest without sleeping.  I managed 2 days, but was out done by a colleague who worked 54 hours straight that weekend – we also scheduled these on long holiday weekends.  Let me tell you that it was not a pretty picture and yes, that did also mean no shower for 54 hours.

Not sure I’d like to try a repeat – older and wiser –  but as it’s getting later on a Friday night and Spinner and I have been emailing each other about our own project issues, I’m getting ready to issue the challenge!  Will she be up for the challenge – we’ll see who cracks first!

Have a Smashing Weekend.

PS  $10 to the first person who can tell me how to change the CSS so that I lose some white space in the height above/below our header.  You would think you just make the height shorter?  No – Not that sensible.

2011 Copyright Smashing LLC 2011 Copyright smashingonline.wordpress.com

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Spinner permalink
    February 18, 2011 10:10 pm

    bring it, JD, bring it

  2. Spinner permalink
    February 18, 2011 10:11 pm

    though, u might win. Why is the logo black?!? lol

    • February 18, 2011 10:19 pm

      Not anymore….Boy you were fast – only black for a few seconds!

  3. Ace permalink
    February 18, 2011 11:13 pm

    Hey, you forgot about me. I am burning the midnight oil over here too, just finished the catalog and reading for printing… Considering I haven’t slept for more than 4 hours in a row for almost 5 months, I think I win the no sleeping contest! lol

    • Robyn Anglebrandt permalink
      February 19, 2011 8:00 am

      Mom’s with babies should always win. Plus you don’t want to make her cry and activate the baby blues! Here’s to a great launch and super successful business.

      • February 19, 2011 8:05 am

        As Tom Hanks might say, “There’s no crying in business”! OK a slight paraphrashing – lol Thanks for the good wishes.

Leave a Reply

