Skip to content

Hypothermia and “She Bop” on Repeat — Someone Kill Me Now

February 28, 2011

I’m writing this blog while covered in 3 blankets, with a big mug of hot chocolate and a space heater by my feet.  Why you ask?  Because I was within minutes of developing hypothermia at our fashion show.  And if that wasn’t enough to scar me from this experience, I am pretty sure if I ever even hear the name “Cyndi Lauper” again, well, I can’t be responsible for my actions.

Let me start from the beginning….

Smashing was once again featured in an area fashion show.  Zzza Zzza, once again, put on a wonderful show and we couldn’t be more proud to be a part of it.  This time, we also agreed, to be a vendor within the “shopping experience.”  This means, that we had a booth where the women attending the show could then go shop.

We show up at 8am Sunday morning to set up.  And we realize right off the bat, that this is a business, that we are not equipped for.  First off, the “vendors” are dressed in pants and more “working” attire.  We are in cute skirts and high heels.  Navigating the sheet of ice on the ramp while bringing all of our things in was quite a challenge.  I spun on that ramp like I was an extra in Saturday Night Fever.  All I needed was the white jacket.

We get inside, and I do a double take.  It is literally COLDER inside the tent than outside.  How is that possible?    My teeth were chattering so much that people thought I had a stutter as I was giving my sales spiel.  One woman actually asked if I could model an outfit. While I’ll do just about anything for a sale, hypothermia is not on the list.   I believe I said, “Lady are you crazy?!?  It’s like 10 degrees in here!”  No sale from her.  Geez, can’t anyone take a joke these days?

We start up the iMovie slide show on my iPad of our clothes and I realize in my rush to get out the door in the morning, while I uploaded our new pics of our line, I pretty much wiped out all my music on my iPad.  So I had 2 choices of songs for the slide show.  One was the National Anthem and the other was She Bop.  While neither really fit the bill, we thought She Bop would inspire some women to get naked.  And when they are naked, they could try  on our clothes.

The only one that got naked was Ace.  It’s quite a story, one our good friend AS would like, but I don’t have time to tell it here.

So now we are shivering, turning blue and rockin out to She Bop.  A crowd has formed in front of our booth.  Could it be because of our awesome clothes? Our expertly designed booth?  Or maybe they are coming over to smash by iPad, because they too can’t listen to another minute of She Bop.

Can you guess the answer?

They were coming over to hear about Square.  Yes, Square.  This is the new innovative way to take credit cards via an app on the iPad/iPhone.  We are now conducting a Continuing Education course about it in the vendor shopping area.  Great.  We got up at 6am, we are freezing (minutes from hypothermia) and the most action we have gotten so far is over our ability to find a great creditor.

So how does the story end?

Well the fashion show was great.  We did get lots of action after the show, when people came over to find out where to purchase our stuff.  So we’ll see if they actually follow-up on their promises.

Me?  I’m recovering.  I think I fended off my brush with death by hypothermia.  However, my brush with death by listening to She Bop for 8 hours, may require more professional assistance.

2011 Copyright Smashing LLC 2011 Copyright smashingonline.wordpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

