Skip to content

Customer Service: Sometimes You need to Vent!

April 8, 2011

Fantastic Customer Service is one of the pillars of Smashing.  In fact, our goal is to be the first choice for tennis and golf apparel by providing unrivalled fit and fashion, and to thrill our customers with our unparalleled customer service.

Those of us who spend a lot of time emailing the same information time and time again, on hold listening to Muzak & arguing with various providers, know that not every company out there has the same goal.

I’ve mentioned in the past the hours I’ve spent debating damaged fabric with various shipping companies – months later, and still no result!  But they know the longer that they delay me with claim forms, the more likely I will be to just forget about it – but I’ll surprise them.

Then there are the services that inundate you with questions, with the same hope that you will give up.  Case in point, we’ve been thrilled with the Square credit card service and have recommended it to many other businesses, in fact they really should give s a commision.  So I’m surprised that it’s taken us 4 weeks and counting to get a replacement swiper for one that broke – they provide a quarter-sized device that connects to your phone or tablet that allows small businesses to accept credit cards.  At least twice a week I send a follow-up email querying the status.  This morning the response was that they don’t expedite shipping on replacement swipers and by the way, we need more information about your transaction volumes and the purpose of your business.

Expedited shipping?  It’s been 4 weeks – are they using pack mules to send it?  (If they are, do they have better customer service than UPS?)  And their questions about transaction volumes could easily be found on their system, since I had to input all of our personal details on our application – it was just a delaying tactic.  I’ve even tweeted my dissatisfaction, since the founder of Square is also one of the co-founders of Twitter.  No tweet reply.

Don’t even get me started on the letter from our bank this week.  I applied for the ability to pay our vendors through their online system.  After several weeks, got a form letter from their online bill processing department that I needed a letter from our bank on their letter head that we are indeed clients?  Still scratching my head on that one – Are they not my bank?  Can’t they just look in their system and confirm my details, or at least call the local branch?  No I need to go into their local branch and get them to write a letter to another department of the same bank, to say that I do exist.  I think I will skip that step and go the bank a couple blocks closer to me and save the aggravation!

My partners might wonder what I do with my work week – it’s usually either pulling my hair out, jamming to Muzak or heading straight for the liquor cabinet.  Sorry for everyone that hopes for a light-hearted blog from us, but’s it’s a rainy day here and every once in a while people need to vent!

At Smashing, we promise we will not commit any of these horrible customer service mistakes, and if you are ever dissatisfied with anything we do, we will personally do everything we can to make it right.

Don’t forget to see us at The South Barrington Club this morning – hopefully I didn’t scare you aware, I’ll let Spinner and Ace do all of the talking today – I predict my morning will be spent finding wi-fi for our credit card processing.

Have a Smashing Weekend!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ace permalink
    April 8, 2011 7:41 am

    That is ridiculous about the bank…do they really want to make it that difficult? Common sense, people.

    • April 8, 2011 7:46 am

      Been on the verge of recommending moving – don’t love their IT, I think this is the decider. Hate to A shame – people in the branch are extremely helpful.

Leave a Reply

