Skip to content

#1 Search on Google — My Fat

April 17, 2011

I’ve always wanted to be famous.  At the age of 3, I’d strut around the playground in high heels, a feather boa and big sparkly sunglasses.  9 month olds would crawl over for an autograph.  I’ve even had my Grammy speech written since I was 10.  So you would think I’d be thrilled to see when you do a google search on “Smashing Golf & Tennis” or “Smashing Golf” the top position is occupied by a pic of me.  Well, let’s just say this pic is a little “larger than life”.

To be the “top of the list” in Google search is a very coveted position.  Big companies that have cushy expense accounts and big web budgets spend lots of time figuring out how to get that spot.  Me, with a stack of expense reports with the word ‘DENIED” stamped across, and a one word web strategy that says ” prayer”, we are usually happy when we pop up on page 17 of the google search list.

But somehow our brilliant strategy of prayer has landed my picture at the top of the Google list.  And it is a picture of my fat.  Great — my fat is famous.

Now to add a little salt to the wound, I was quoted for an entrepreneur blog and our link was published on their site.  Again, this is great because it gives us more exposure.  It would have been even better if I took the “request for quote” seriously, as opposed to my usual “class clown” persona.

I was asked, “When the chips are down and times are tough, what is the motivational quote that keeps you going?”

I replied, “Whether your glass is half empty or half full, there is always room for Vodka.”

So now when you search on my name and entrepreneur it is at the top position.  There are lots of other entrepreneurs that were quoted as well, apparently they all starch their underwear.

Being the marketing guru, I’m hoping that when people hear the word “Smashing” or “Smashing Golf & Tennis” the images that are conjured up are “slimming couture”, “high-end fashion,” “hourglass beauty.”   But I’m thinking at the moment, we are conjuring up slightly different images.

Hmmm…..Does this mean our glass is half full or half empty?

2011 Copyright Smashing LLC 2010 Copyright smashingonline.wordpress.com

One Comment leave one →
  1. Pencils permalink
    April 17, 2011 1:39 pm

    It doesn’t matter. As one zaftig entrepreneur famously said, “Whether your glass is half empty or half full, there is always room for Vodka.”

Leave a Reply

