Skip to content

In your Face Spinner!

June 9, 2011
Image: anat_tikker / FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Tonight was the weekly Smashing status meeting, and we agreed on a few major issues – such as our sales strategy for the next season, some next steps on different distribution channels, etc. We did defer a few other items until we have more information and feedback from our customers after a few more weeks of wear. So all in all, a successful meeting – although too often they end after my bedtime!  

I had picked Spinner up, so on the way home we chit-chatted about several items, including an upcoming Ladies Tennis Day she has volunteered to chair.  (My sole job was to select the signature drink for this event – completed!)  

She was discussing what centerpiece ideas I had and suggested using the one I came up with for Ace’s baby shower, which was essentially a vase filled with tennis balls and flowers.  She then asked what color tennis balls they should be, green or pink?  I suggested that she should stick to regular tennis ball yellow, and throw in some yellow Gerber daisies.  “Yellow, where do you find yellow tennis balls?”, she asks.  “Really?, they’re all over the tennis courts”, I reply.  Nope – she thinks they’re green.
  
We debated this the remainder of the car ride home, each thinking the other was completely nuts – she showing me a yellow tennis ball when we got to her house, declaring victory and yelling out, “See – It’s green!”.  

Of course, I needed to research this the second I got home.  According to the USTA website, ” It is the intent of the USTA to only utilize solid white or solid yellow colored ball types which are both USTA and ITF approved tennis balls in all USTA sanctioned tournaments.”    

I also confirmed this on the Wilson site – where they declare their professional balls yellow, and even Wikipedia agrees with me!    I guess the official name of the color is “Optic Yellow”, and this color was chosen for the contrast against the green court and for it’s display on TV in 1972.  (Note: Historically, tennis balls were either white or black.)

Although, I was suprised that there have been past controversy on the yellow vs. green question in various discussion boards online, and some researcher concluding that a lot of men think they’re green and most women will call them yellow. I had no idea that anyone else did not know their colors either, nor that there were people out there documenting their case.  Of course, the more substantial evidence pointed to yellow and the rest of the folks were just color blind!

So while we will continue to debate this pressing issue, have a Smashing weekend!


2011 Copyright Smashing LLC 2011 Copyright smashingonline.wordpress.com
Image: anat_tikker / FreeDigitalPhotos.net
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Spinner permalink
    June 10, 2011 8:25 am

    according to my Crayola box they are green

    • June 10, 2011 8:46 am

      Hmmm….Who should I believe – the national governing body for the sport of tennis who sanctions the balls for tournaments, or your crayon box? I think I will rest my case now!

  2. Max (the Max in the blog) permalink*
    June 10, 2011 10:26 am

    Hi mom. Why were you talking about balls in the first place?

    P.S. I am glad you are the boss…….no affence ace and spinner.

    • June 10, 2011 10:32 am

      Thanks for the comment Max – I still cannot believe you think the balls are green, no dinner for you! xoxo

Trackbacks

  1. Fifty Shades of Grey « Smashing Golf & Tennis Blog

Leave a Reply

