Skip to content

Fashion’s Night Out

September 9, 2011

Last night was national Fashion Night Out with shops across the country celebrating the Fashion industry with designer & celebrities out in full force making stops at various boutiques. Seth Meyers was at Coach, Dakota Fanning signed totes at Marc Jacobs and even Justin Bieber hit Dolce & Gabbana! While we’re no Justin Bieber, Spinner and I did pop into Mia Sorella in Barrington, IL to help them celebrate FNO and raise money for Juvenile Diabetes Reasearch Foundation.   Thanks to everyone at Mia Sorella, they raised over $1500 for JDRF last night – well done!

Of course, since we were going to represent Smashing at this event, both Spinner and I were having a pre-event fashion crisis. What exactly do you wear in Chicago on September 8 when the temperature yesterday ranged from 50-75 degrees? Is it summer or fall?  I started the day in a short-sleeve, cotton turtle neck, but was sweating while eating lunch with a friend al fresco.  Came home and changed into a sleeveless dress and then spent the rest of the day freezing.  So before I left for the event, I must have tried on 20 outfits and modelling them for my 14 year old son, who really should have been studying for his math test than watching my fashion/season crisis.

I went with the sleeveless dress in the end and while I love this dress, spent the whole night looking at everyone else that some how knew just what to wear at this funny in between season.  I think the winner of the night was the girl who wore a long summer maxi-dress (an option that I did consider), but with a cute jean jacket over (why didn’t I think of that?).  The perfect mix of summer & fall.

So I’m off to lunch now with some good friends to celebrate my birthday weekend – but trying to carve out a time when I can go jean jacket shopping, because now I know what to wear during this funny season.  Let’s hope I find one I like before the snow falls.

Have a Smashing Weekend & Never Forget 9/11

Leave a Reply

