Skip to content

Is it all Worth It?

September 20, 2011

I know this blog is a little late, but this has been one heck of a week

I wish I could report all good things, but alas, even me, who has smile lines so deep I could hide loose change, can’t muster my big toothy grin

What happened that turned that smile upside down?

Lost a sale. Yes, I know, it happens (even to a marketing guru like me), but this was one I REALLY wanted. And I hate losing.

So what did I do?

I threw a big old tantrum in the middle of my kitchen floor of course.

As I’m pounding my fists on my hardwood floors, kicking my feet faster than Michael Phelps and screaming like the last Missoni sweater is taken from the shelf, my children are standing there watching in awe.

My husband walks in, rolls his eyes and asks if I’m finished.

I stand up, smooth my Smashing skirt down and say, “Why yes I am.”. He asks what’s wrong and I proceed to tell the story of the evil witch who is refusing to buy our product

He says, “Did you think this was going to be easy? Did you think you were going to launch the brand and 6 months later someone is going to buy you and you could retire?”

I roll my eyes like a know it all 9 year old and say, “YES!”

“You have a lot more setbacks ahead of you,” he continued, “You better get used to it.”

I’m sure this quote is inscribed right next to Vince Lombardi’s at Notre Dame

But he’s right. There will be a lot more road bumps along the way (I’m just not sure my hardwoods can handle many more).

So I’m turning my frown upside down and looking forward to waking up to a new day tomorrow. First thing on my agenda? Install linoleum in the kitchen

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2011 5:19 am

    I think I’ll cancel the order for your Salesman of the year plaque! BTW I’m pretty sure that Lombardi was Green Bay’s coach…lol

  2. spinner permalink
    September 21, 2011 5:57 am

    yuck! can’t have a Green Bay coach on this blog — who was the famous one at Notre Dame then? geez, can’t even get the blog right this week!!!

  3. September 21, 2011 6:47 am

    I think you mean Knute Rockne – He’s the guy that gave the “Win one for the Gipper” speech.

  4. October 3, 2011 7:37 pm

    I think I’ll cancel the order for your Salesman of the year plaque! BTW I’m pretty sure that Lombardi was Green Bay’s coach…lol
    +1

Leave a Reply

