Skip to content

We’re in More Magazine

October 14, 2011

I love More Magazine – It’s tagline is “For Women of Style & Substance“.  So when Spinner noticed they were looking for a story for women over 40 that started a business with friends – she immediately shot me an email saying that I was perfect for it.

Flattered, I agree with her and say why thank you – my attempt at style and substance is being noticed.  But then I remember that neither of them have hit 40 yet and her thought was probably give this to the old one.  I don’t mind, I probably thought the same thing when I was still in my late 30’s – 40 was pretty scary.  But as I look back – the 40’s are a great age to be and my favorite decade so far, ‘tho want them to slow down fast as I coming quickly up to the next decade, which just sounds scary!

So I write an answer to all of the journalists questions about how great it is to work with friends and most of it gets edited out so that all that is left is “Spend Some Time Apart”.  Yikes – the others will think I wrote only that I don’t want to hang out with them anymore, maybe I won’t tell them it was published.  To add fuel to the fire, I notice that Ace has been pretty much edited out of the story too – Awkward – she was very much included in my original draft.  Obviously there was a space limit, but it’s always concerning that our story about drinking pomegranate martinis always makes the final draft.

I’m a little bit worried that More may take this comment the wrong way – not true. Honestly, we very excited that they included Smashing G&T – Here’s the story Start A Success Business with Friends, we’re the 5th tip.

You might think that it’s a bit of a stretch that More would actually notice our blog.  I would have thought the same thing about 30 minutes ago.  As I sat down to figure out what to write, I decided to waste some time and check out the statistics from Spinners last blog. Wow – She got a lot of reads! Curious, I investigate more and notice that her last blog  – I Just Don’t Understand Thin People was picked up by the Tracey Anderson website.  Now that’s funny, since I wouldn’t say that she was giving them a positive review.

So I want to say in advance – in case More reads this – I love More, read it for years, a subscriber and promise to strive to be a Women of Style & Substance.  Thank you for including us – I just want Spinner to stop sending me the “over 40” article requests, as she just emailed me one yesterday.  I think she’s not really that far off herself!

Have a Smashing weekend.

2011 Copyright Smashing LLC 2011 Copyright smashingonline.wordpress.com

PS Don’t forget that 10% of all Internet Sales in October will be donated to the Susan G. Komen Foundation for breast cancer research. As a special bonus – enter code CURE15 at checkout for an additional 15% discount.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. spinner permalink
    October 17, 2011 2:46 pm

    oh I’m VERY far, very far indeed!

Leave a Reply

