Skip to content

LinkedOut of LinkedIn

March 6, 2012

Why can’t LinkedIn and I just get along?

While this isn’t the first time customer support and I have battled heads, this seems to have been one of the more heated.  It ended with me getting a notice that I am now “restricted.”

Apparently I didn’t read the terms and conditions when I signed up for my LinkedIn account eons ago.  You know that long scrolling page that you keep arrowing down to the end so you can just click the accept box?  That one.

LinkedIn, for those of you who have not read the terms and conditions, is to connect with people you already know.  Think Facebook in a corporate setting.  You aren’t supposed to invite connections with others unless you are properly introduced.  I have been sending invites to people I WANT to connect with — apparently, that is a “no no.”

LinkedIn is a networking site on which you are not allowed to network.  Brilliant!!

I pressed customer service on this issue and asked why would I want to connect with people I already know?  I want to connect with people I don’t know!  Isn’t that how you build your business connections?

They responded to ask my friends to introduce me to them.  Who has time for this?

I’ve built well over 600 connections before getting the restricted notice so wondered why all of a sudden I’m “out.”  They said someone reported me.

Now I’m in hysterical laughter.

Someone tattled on me?!?  That is priceless.  Must have been an employee of Nike.

LinkedIn said they would allow me to use the service again if I promise to use it in the correct way.  In other words, stop networking.  Just post mindless updates and press releases to people who already know everything about me.  Join groups that have become spam centers for individual corporate ads.  And most of all, don’t try to grow your business.  Well, what are you waiting for…SHOW ME THE DOTTED LINE!

The email they sent me was so long, so I just arrowed to the bottom and said I agree.

Can’t wait to be back on LinkedIN!

Spinner is Managing Partner of Smashing Golf & Tennis and mother of 3.  She is a social media guru and especially loves social media sites that discourage you from being social.  She is currently thinking of buying stock in LinkedIn.

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2012 8:00 am

    Why wouldn’t someone want to connect with you, your wit..and Your 600 connections? Heck, I’m at about 1000 connections, and don’t know many, many of them…and I’ve accepted every request, because it’s all about networking and “Linking into people”.
    I’m only hurt you haven’t tried to link into me. 🙂

  2. Spinner permalink
    March 6, 2012 8:22 am

    LOL. Apparently I need a proper introduction to connect with you. But if you invite me, I’d love to connect. I promise not to tattle on you!

  3. Simplytsl permalink
    March 6, 2012 10:57 am

    You are too funny, so you need me to invite you or will that get us both on the black list. People I do not know approach me all the time, from when I speak or other things, so it does not make sense. If you don’t linkin..you just don’t accept.

  4. Tenniswall permalink
    March 6, 2012 11:01 am

    You haven’t been restricted yet, so u can invite me. I promise to not tattle. FYI since this blog went up this am, I’ve gotten a ton of requests for connections. Maybe I should report everyone & we can have our own “restricted” group

Leave a Reply

