Skip to content

Why I REALLY don’t like Nike now

November 12, 2012

Those of you that follow this blog, know that I’m not a fan of Nike.  Besides the fact that they are a competitor, the local Nike rep threw a shoe at me last Spring and obviously I haven’t gotten over it yet.  But this latest tale has hit a little closer to home.

My oldest is the family athlete.  Any sport that is offered for her age group she joins.  While I encourage this, I always cringe at the fact that every sport has specific shoes that you need.  (Didn’t we all just wear the same pair of sneakers for every sport we played?)  She has tennis shoes, running shoes, soccer cleats (both indoor and outdoor), gym shoes (no outdoor sneakers allowed in the gym), and now she has joined basketball.  Looks like retirement will need to be put off a few more years.

Now this constant shoe buying spree for my kids might not be so bad, if they weren’t growing like weeds.  I bought all my kids new shoes for the start of school and they are already curling their toes in their shoes (“Keep curling it builds character!” I say).  My oldest is almost the same shoe size as me and she is only 10.  This is concerning since my feet are almost as big as my friend Jenn’s and they mistake her footprint for Yeti’s all the time up here.

So with this in mind, I decide that I’m not going to buy basketball shoes right away, I want to make sure this sport sticks and she doesn’t beg me to take her out early on.  So I tell her to wear her tennis shoes as they have a sturdy ankle support and toe support like a basketball shoe.

But after a few weeks of practice and watching all the girls come out in their high tops, I feel the classic mom guilt and decide I should take her sport shoe shopping.

We head right to the youth section.  I don’t know why I torture myself like this.  She is clearly in the adult section, and clearly I’m going to be paying double the price for a few extra inches of synthetic leather.

They measure her foot.  The salesman looks at me and points me to the adult section.  They have all the very expensive flashy shoes right at eye level; anything under $100 is hidden under the benches.

While my daughter tries on a pair of the flashy basketball shoes (btw, flashy is code for expensive), I am crawling around on the ground in between dust bunnies, looking for those “less expensive options.”  But she loves the flashy shoes (what can I say she is my daughter) and we buy them.

Today she goes to basketball practice with her new basketball shoes that were designed to reduce injury.  Guess what happens?  Yup, twisted ankle.

Thanks Nike.  You did it again.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2014 6:53 pm

    Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download
    it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make
    my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Many thanks

  2. August 19, 2014 5:58 pm

    I do not even know the way I finished up right here, however I believed this submit was once good.
    I don’t know who you’re however definitely you are going to a well-known blogger
    if you are not already. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

