Skip to content

A Smashing Career Day

January 29, 2013
Spinner Before/After

Before/After

Last Friday I participated in the local middle school Career Day designed to inspire and inform 8th graders with their career decisions and more immediately, with their course selections in high school.  I was signed up to give 2 45 minutes presentations to about 40 students. Since I also was one of the Career Day co-chairs, I figured it would be a breeze, since I had the insider’s information about the day.

I also recalled that Spinner had recently done a Career Day for a bunch of 5th graders at her daughter’s school, so I asked for some insight into what worked and what didn’t work.  She said that she asked a lot of questions and really took the conversation from there, i.e. she winged it!

Now I’m all for winging it – so this sounded like a good idea to me.  I did bring a few slides, just to set the scene and give a bit of background. (Spinner will be thrilled to know that 8th graders were impressed with the disappearance of her muffin top!)

Since many thought that I was speaking primarily about fashion, my group was mostly girls. However, there were a few boys that were initially not too happy to be in the fashion group, but hopefully I put their mind at ease when I told them this was going to be a schpeel more about the business of fashion and entrepreneurship.

So I did start by asking a few questions and asking if they had any.  Not a sound! Well, it was 8am – so it might take us a few minutes to warm up.  So went through my 10 minute schpeel and then asked them again a few questions.  Nada!

I had forgotten what a tough crowd 8th graders are…..Where are a bunch of inquisitive 5th graders when you need them?

Fortunately, I had more schpeel and slides, because who doesn’t love a Powerpoint presentation? Actually, was able to take them online and show them the business benefits of our blog, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, etc., and talk about Social Media and how it benefits business.  So that killed a few more minutes and they were starting to liven up after we looked at all the pictures of Spinner on our Pinterest page – they especially loved her groovy ’70’s look!  And a group of them were thrilled to be one of the first pictures on our Instagram.  But I’m a bit scared after I explained how social media advertising worked and that we were charged when people clicked on the ad only, one guy thought it would be hysterical to find our ads and click on them!

Even after we all updated our Facebook pages, I still had about 15 minutes to kill.  Fortunately, I had something in my back pocket just in case.  Who doesn’t love a group project?  So divided the room into 3 groups and asked them to come up with a fashion problem and their business solution.  After the initial groans of having to break into smaller groups, I was very impressed with their ideas. I think our detour into checking our Facebook pages did the trick, and I will need to remember that when I scold my own son with his study break checking his Twitter account.

Thanks again for a fun Career Day – And next  year I’ll remember that I’ll just bring all of our social media updates for the week and assign them to the group.  Maybe I can even get someone to write the blog!

Presenting their Fashion idea.

Presenting their Fashion idea.

Have a Smashing week.

Smashing© and http://www.smashingonline.wordpress.com©, 2013.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2013 9:18 am

    Cute outfit Jayne!! 🙂

    • January 29, 2013 9:27 am

      Thanks – I love anything I can wear black tights and boots!

  2. Spinner permalink
    January 29, 2013 11:10 am

    Great — my muffin top is going viral

Leave a Reply

