Skip to content

Sorry for Swearing – It’s the Hormones

January 30, 2014

I cannot help it, but I have a tendency to swear on the tennis court. I’ve tried to control myself, but cannot. And I’m not just talking about your basic “dammit” or “shoot”, but the dreaded F-bomb.

I used to never swear – that is until I started playing tennis.

In fact, I remember my boss early in my career saying to me, “Jayne, you’ve got to stop fucking swearing – it’s not ladylike!”. I thought to myself, when do I swear and didn’t he just drop the F-bomb himself? I think there was the perception that I must be swearing, as I was a take no prisoner type of professional woman in my 20’s and 30’s.

Talk about a double-standard. My boss could actually swear during a reprimand for swearing to someone who honestly didn’t swear.

Now I let them fly – We’ve come a long way baby!

I do apologize to my partner and opponent beforehand and make sure that they know that they are directed at myself and usually under my breath. Most people just laugh and more and more I hear from my opponent, “Phew, now I won’t worry about my swearing”.

Just envision it – North Shore Chicagoan ladies playing tennis and swearing like truck drivers. It’s quite a funny display.

The other day, I was having dinner with my two teenaged sons – both of them having the usual unpredictable hormonal spurts that affect their emotions and we have a lot of outburst here. Mix that with their hormonal peri menopausal mom and we got a recipe for craziness here. We’ve recently discussed this and have all agreed that we’re all allowed to take a “Hormone Timeout”, if we feel that an argument isn’t making sense anymore.

Unfortunately, my youngest takes a Hormone Timeout several times a day – especially when I ask him to unload the dishwasher or take out the trash. I feel I’ve created a monster.

So back to tennis swearing. I’m off to another tennis match in a few minutes and I’m apologizing in advance to the ladies in Niles – but I reserving my right to use my Hormonal Timeout.

Have a Smashing week.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

